Search
< Back to Product

Cub Cadet CS511 Gas Chain Saws Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
Cub Cadet CS511 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5
Pros
I'd Buy It Again (12)
Price (9)
Easy To Use (7)
Exceeded Expectations (6)
High Quality (5)
Cons
Heavy (4)
Unreliable (2)
Engine Issues (1)
Low Quality (1)
Nothing (1)
79% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
29 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Stephen L.
Henderson Harbor, NY
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 11/28/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
FEB.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent
I have used several chain saws in the past for jobs done around the house. This, by far, is the easiest-starting chain saw I have ever used (if you follow the EASY directions). It has plenty of power and I would recommend it highly for the price and the quality.
Stephen Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Stephen's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy and fast to work with. Point, click, and deliver!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
John S.
Hertford, NC
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 5/18/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Difficult To Fell Trees
My Club Cadet 18' chain saw will not continue running when I tilt it to the right side to make a horizontal cut into a trunk. It runs for a half minute and then it dies. It will also act the same by just tilting it to the right without cutting anything.
John Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard D.
Quincy, MA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 12/7/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
31
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wow! Great Great Saw
Don't under estimate this little giant. It cuts like a champ. My friend, a (Fireman) and I went to a place on a beach in Boston harbor we call the wood pile and cut up some 8" x 10" water logged pressure treated posts. Very, very hard material to cut. I've used several chainsaws but I am not well seasoned.

He said he used chain saws all the time and although this was a little more weight than he was used to (by a few pounds).It started, ran, and cut as good as any Huskies or Stihls... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Packaging, Blade Cover
Richard Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Carol W.
Manning, SC
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 10/15/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easier Start
Great piece of equipment for the price.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Easy To Use, High Quality
Carol Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Carol's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast reliable service"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ron X.
Shawnee, KS
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 6/6/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JUN.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Performance Extraordinaire!
Love this machine! It is a workhorse with an attitude!
Ron Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
00
David W.
Meyersdale, PA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 11/20/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Impressive Power
The saw has power to spare. Cuts great. I would buy it again.
David Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Ryan B.
Burlington, CT
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 9/6/14
Total Helpful Votes
22 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
28
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Disappointment
While delivery of my Cub Cadet chainsaw was expedient, performance and service since has not been. Upon receipt, I prepped the equipment as instructed only to have the chainsaw not start.

Soon after, I called Chainsaws Direct only to be told to call Cub Cadet, which then had me bring in the chainsaw to a local dealer for service. This is where I stand about three weeks later.

Since this chainsaw did not start for me at all, I can not give an honest review. However, I'm disappointed at... more
Ryan Does Not Recommend This Product
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
Ryan,
We are sorry to hear about the issues you are having. We are working with Cub Cadet to have a replacement sent out to you at no cost. Again we apologize for the inconvenience in this situation. If you have any questions, please feel to contact us.
more
Was this review helpful?
220
Steven F.
Saint Johnsbury, VT
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 10/17/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
76 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw
Cut with a buddy every weekend and we go through a lot of wood with our saws. This was bought as a replacement for a Poulan I had that just couldn't take the size or volume of service...this saw runs great, cuts like a mad man, and does it all day long...a great saw.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Reliable, High Quality
Cons: Heavy
Steven Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
150
Vance
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 2/2/13
Total Helpful Votes
17 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw So Far
Easy start, good power/torque, cuts great and an excellent price. Now if it will last at least half as long as the Stihl it replaced....
Was this review helpful?
174
Cort C.
Claremore, OK
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 7/20/13
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It
Needed a new Chain saw. Did my research and found this Cub Cadet at a great price. Thought the weight would be a problem. But I was wrong. Good balance and minimal vibration. Can run it for a long time without getting tired.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Cort Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Cort Would Recommend Chain Saws Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Quick and easy."
 more
Was this review helpful?
131
Bob L.
Sequim, WA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 8/27/13
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Little Saw
A great buy, easy to use and cuts wood like butter and handy around the property.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Price, Fast
Bob Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Bob Would Recommend Chain Saws Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast, quick delivery and a good price."
 more
Was this review helpful?
102
Carol N.
El Dorado Springs, MO
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 10/18/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Impressions Are Great
I absolutely hate buying new stuff, I would rather buy an old well maintained item . This saw is an exception to that rule. I am extremely impressed with this saw. It starts very easy and cuts great. The 51 cc has plenty of power . I dropped 3 trees one of which measured about 30 inches. This saw let me control were the tree fell . It is a little heavy after about an hour, but for most part not a problem. It will cut and cut fast. Very little vibration and fairly quiet.. I hope it has lasting... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Durable, High Quality
Carol Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
71
Michael R.
Cadyville, NY
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 10/11/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
04
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw
Price was right.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Heavy
Michael Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
71
Rhonda G.
Azle, TX
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 7/5/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Tree's Are Falling All Around!!
Due to the tree's that have fallen all around our house we had to purchase a new chainsaw! The old one we had was a piece of crud!! This one we ordered and the delivery was right on time :) we have since used it to cut down several fallen tree's w/o a problem , it always starts right up with no problems! Cuts through tree's like butter! Really couldn't be happier with our purchase here! Great product at a great price!! Now my back yard is starting to look like one instead of a jungle!!
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Nothing
Rhonda Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
82
Matthew S.
Prairie View, TX
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 9/25/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Revised Review
My first cub cadet chain saw was a lemon, however the replacement is outstanding. I found out that the first saw had a problem with dust getting into the engine cylinder.

This was a problem that could be solved, so MTD was willing to give me a new one. I have not had any problems that would indicate that this chain saw will be a problem.
Matthew Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Matthew's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I was treated with respect and our conversations were short and results driven. Chain saw direct does not repair the saws that they sell but the do get in the middle when there is a problem. I was given detailed instructions and within a few months the problem was resolved. Shipping was done in a way that kept the saw from being damaged. It also arrived on-time and secure."
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
Chris S.
Fisher, MN
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 9/16/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Bang For The Buck
I got this saw as a backup saw and I'm glad I did. I was cutting up 3 cords of wood and my primary saw quit working so I fueled up this saw and finished the job 2 cords of 10" oak and ash cured all cut into 18"-20" length with no problems.

There is a lot more power in this saw than I thought there would be. I was so impressed my dad ordered 2 more that night. the chains locally are 3 bucks more than online, but the shipping balances that out to the same so I did get 3 extra... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Exceeded Expectations, Fast
Chris Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Nathan V.
Paris, MO
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 11/7/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Chain Saw Is Off The Chart My Fav
This chain saw is off the chart, works well, starts easy, and cuts like a champ, it puts other chain saws to shame .... number 1 in my book thanks Power Equipment for all the things you have to offer, no complaints with any thing I buy from you..
Pros: I'd Buy It Again
Nathan Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Kenneth P.
Jacksonville, FL
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 11/15/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
06
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Paul Bunyon Proud
Cuts wood like they were butter. Ez to start.
Pros: Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Heavy
Kenneth Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Kenneth Would Recommend Chain Saws Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Cut up a 20 ft log in 10 minutes."
 more
Was this review helpful?
51
Brad B.
Shellsburg, IA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 10/17/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
07
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Just Ok
The price for the saw was reasonable, however the quality of the saw is in question. The saw cuts and runs well but it seems very cheap.

Everything is plastic on the saw. It will be interesting how it holds up when I start pushing it to the limits.
Brad Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Brad's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I found the website easy to navigate and full of good information. Chainsaw direct helped me make a good buying decision."
 more
Was this review helpful?
41
James M.
Jeddo, MI
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 1/1/14
REVIEWED
MAR.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Saw
The 51cc 18-inch is an excellent saw. The price is great. I'm very impressed. A very well made saw and stats every time.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Easy To Use, Very User Friendly Excellent All Around Saw
James Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
James's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The 18 inch 51 cc cuts like a dream. Plenty of horse power just keep your chain sharp and you will cut a lot of wood with this saw."
 more
Was this review helpful?
52
Rocky S.
East Grand Forks, MN
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 9/21/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Impressed I Purchased A Second One As A Backup.
Ordered saw and it arrived 5 days later. Added fuel and oil and it started on the third pull. I have cut up 3 cords of wood with the original blade. Very impressed with the HP. Was so impressed I purchased a second one as a backup.
Pros: Price, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, I Purchased A Second One
Rocky Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
20
David S.
Schenectady, NY
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 6/11/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
06
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Cub Cadet Chain Saw
Not one of my best purchases. First use was great, ran strong. Half a year later pulled saw out and on second pull recoil failed. Saw has been in shed ever since and only an hour of use. I should have called PED, maybe it would have been under warranty.
David Does Not Recommend This Product
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
David,
Cub Cadet provides a 3 year warranty on your saw. You purchased in June of 2013 so the warranty is still active. You could call Cub Cadet at 877-282-8684 or use the service locator below to find your nearest Cub Cadet servicing dealer. If you need any assistance at all, please let us know and we would be happy to help.

CUB CADET DEALER LOCATOR
more
Was this review helpful?
31
Derek Kaple
Columbus, OH
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 11/7/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
11
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Should Have Listened
I was strongly advised not to buy a Cub Cadet chain saw. Although their other equipment is terrific, I could not be more disappointed in the chainsaw.

The main issue with the saw is that the engine will not idle or run properly. I have had two experts look at it, and neither could get the saw able to idle while running or get the saw to run "wide open".

When the saw does run it cuts wonderfully, but again, getting it to run is the issue.

If I could take back the purchase,... more
Cons: Unreliable, Heavy, Engine Issues
Derek Does Not Recommend This Product
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
Derek,
Thank you for your review, and we're very sorry to hear you've had such a frustrating time with your new saw. Your saw does come with a 3-year consumer warranty, so try calling Cub Cadet's customer service number - 1 (877) 428-2349. Have your serial number ready, and they should be able to assist you with the warranty.
more
Was this review helpful?
31
David K.
Graham, NC
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 3/13/14
REVIEWED
APR.
06
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Don't Believe The Ratings!!
Maybe I got a lemon, but we had a terrible March ice storm here in central North Carolina with lots of downed Yellow Pines. I ordered this thing on 3/13 it was delivered on 3/17. On 3/19 it wouldn't start...finally it started after taking it apart and messing with the spark plug. It ran for 30 minutes. I cut the damaged trees...that was it!!! Won't run again!! Still more work to do! The pull cord broke. Gas to oil mixture is correct. Worse than my cheapo Homelite. Will not buy again, BEWARE... more
Pros: None
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable
David Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
64
Robert
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 1/7/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
19
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
I've had problems with other brands however, this chain saw has exceeded expectations.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Price, Reliable, High Quality
Robert Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Carlos
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 3/29/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far No Problems
just had it sharpened at a servie place,starts right up knock on wood!!
Carlos Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Matthew S.
Prairie View, TX
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 9/25/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
30
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Worse Than Any Chain Saw I Have Ever Used
I purchased this chain saw based on the reviews. It has never worked for more than 30 minutes in the last 15 months. I have in for repairs twice but in both cases they were unable to find the problem. It has a problem with idle speed, overheating and the chain loosing tension, caused by overheating.
Matthew Does Not Recommend This Product
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
Matthew,
We are sorry to hear of the issue you are having with your Cub Cadet saw. If you have already visited a servicing dealer you may be best served contacting Cub Cadet directly at this point. If you have any issues at all talking with Cub Cadet, please feel free to contact and we would be happy to help any way we can. They can be reached at 1-877-282-8684.
more
Was this review helpful?
21
Jesse B.
Sayre, PA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 9/16/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
07
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far, So Good!
Only used a little bit. Has plenty of power, and cuts logs like butter. It will be put to the test soon.
Jesse Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Jesse's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping, but could have had a better box to ship in."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Matthew L.
Fort Ashby, WV
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 9/29/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
21
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good So Far
I have used this chainsaw for a day, about 6 hours, and have had no issues. I will say that this website and Chain Saws direct are great. They have great reviews and I thought it was a mistake when I saw my saw was out for delivery, but it wasn't. Great service.
Matthew Recommends This Cub Cadet Product
Matthew's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"This website has much better service and is way better than going to a Lowe's or Home Depot."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Cub Cadet CS511 gas chain saw reviews.Compare our Cub Cadet CS511 ratings. Find the Cub Cadet CS511 gas chain saw that is right for you.