Search
< Back to Product

GreenWorks 20262. Cordless Chain Saws Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Shipping$179.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$179.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$209.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
GreenWorks 20262. Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (5)
Light Weight (4)
Exceeded Expectations (4)
Quiet (3)
Price (2)
Cons
Oil Reservoir Size Dull ... (1)
Chain Oil Cap Poorly Des... (1)
There Are No Cons (1)
Plastic Tension Knob Dou... (1)
Durability (1)
97% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
29 Reviews  Sort by 
 
John H.
Tampa, FL
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 5/5/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Max Is A Great Tool.
I have 3 chain saw's 2 gas,1 elect, and now I have the G- Max 12" and it works great, My church has 37 trees that we planted 10 years ago and they needed to be timed so I bought the G- Max 12" and extra battery.

The reason I bought the Max was when I was up in the tree or on a ladder I could hold the saw with one hand and get the job done.

The 40 volt battery would last for hr's, most of the time when I was cutting the bat would last late into the afternoon. I was cutting... more
John Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
30
John T.
Huntsville, AL
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 7/27/16
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
AUG.
19
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Will Never Replace Gas Operated Model
Have large yard with lots of trees. Wanted something that would be useful and convenient to help in maintaining the property.
John Does Not Recommend This Product
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
John,
Thank you for taking the time to write an honest review. Electric units are great in regards to maintenance however, these often have trouble keeping up with the demands of larger tasks as they do not have the same power or run times. Have you contacted Greenworks technical support department regarding the bar coming off the saw and the excessive oil leaks? They may be able to provide assistance in correcting these issues.

Once again I appreciate your time and I hope you have a great day.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
I'm sorry to read that you're not satisfied with this chain saw. If you have any questions or concern that we may be able to address, please do not hesitate to contact us at 1-888-909-6757, or email us at info@greenworkstools.com.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Gordon P.
Palisade, CO
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 2/20/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Why Would Anyone Want To Buy An Electric Chainsaw??
After owning & using 4 different gasoline powered chainsaws for about 25 years and being unable to find repairs for them, I was so disgusted that I thought, "Why not try and electric chainsaw?"

My first impression after taking it out of the box was, "wow, this thing is too light". That was about 25 trees ago. You see, I operate a peach orchard (easy wood to cut), but have several plum and apricot trees besides. The apricot wood is hard, but as long as you can hold... more
Gordon Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
Gordon,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We really appreciate it, and so do other online shoppers. We're glad to hear your saw's working out for you so well.
more
Was this review helpful?
41
Douglas C.
Mount Airy, MD
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 4/30/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
04
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Should Have Bought One Long Ago
At 81 yrs old, I've had it with fighting to get gas chainsaws started. My cordless saw is great. It's first test was clearing dead, dried out apple tree debris limbs (several over 2 inches diameter at the base) that fell down during winter.

The Greenworks saw worked well. I was expecting significant kick back from the hard wood, but it was minimal. I would definitely recommend this product to friends, and have already done so for two.
Douglas Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Diane J.
Oswego, NY
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 9/6/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
03
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Love This Chainsaw
This chainsaw is perfect. It's lightweight and easy to use. Great product!
Diane Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Donna R.
Courtland, CA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 10/23/13
Total Helpful Votes
27 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
40v Cordless
Previously had a 18V cordless chain saw and it was only good for pruning branched 2-2-1/2 inches thick. This saw can go through a 4 to 5 inch trunk with ease. Very happy with the product
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Donna Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
273
Michael D.
South Berwick, ME
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 7/1/13
Total Helpful Votes
25 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Over All Pleased
It is more powerful than I expected. Had an issue with tension knob. It is plastic, not sure if I stripped the teeth.
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight, Very Quietlightweight
Cons: Durability, Plastic Tension Knob Doubt It Will Last Long
Michael Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
252
Rickey G.
Jonesville, LA
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
In A Wheelchair
I used a chainsaw all my life until I got hurt in a 4-wheeler wreck. I tried using my 20 inch Husqvarna and could not handle it. So I tried my son's 16 inch Husqvarna, and it was a little easier. Then I found this saw and bought it cheap. I did not figure it would do the job, but WOW it will go right through a 6in. tree.

I have been using it for 2 months now it is a surprise I could not be more pleased with it. I use it 45 minutes at a time and have never ran the battery down while using... more
Rickey Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
150
Bobbie D.
Hatfield, AR
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 4/1/14
Total Helpful Votes
16 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It
I am a 65 year old lady. We live in Arkansas with a lot of trees which with the weather we have been having a lot of limbs broken off. We have a gas powered chain saw but it is too hard to start and use but now with my Greenworks battery chainsaw I don't have to wait on my husband to trim .......I love it.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Cons: There Are No Cons
Bobbie Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
161
Julie G.
Albany, CA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 3/4/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Greenworks Cordless Chain Saw 12" Model 20262
I needed a small chain saw to take down an aging fruit tree, including roots. The Greenworks G-Max (12") saw was up to the task - even though this hardwood tree had a 15" trunk. It did take a few battery recharges to complete the job - including slicing the trunk into firewood length sections. Each charge gave about 25 minutes of continuous cutting time through very hard fruit wood. It goes through the chain oil pretty quickly, but I suspect that most chain saws do.

It also... more
Julie Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
Julie,
Thank you for writing such a detailed review. Other online shoppers find this kind of information from real customers very helpful, and we would like you to know that we truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Thanks again, and have a great spring and summer.
more
Julie's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Super convenient shopping - with good product descriptions and very helpful reviews."
 more
Was this review helpful?
80
David V.
St. Paul, MN
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 9/28/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
10
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far, So Good!
I've never owned a chain saw before. In fact, I'm not sure I've ever used one. My Greenworks rechargeable seems to work extremely well for the size jobs I have.

Early on, I lost the chain, but I think that's because I didn't know how to set the tension. After that, the G-max went through about 10 medium sized branches and the battery never died. Nice power. Decent performance.
David Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
71
Tom H.
Sparta, GA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 1/17/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
12 Inch Chain Saw
The saw works great, and I even cut a 16 inch pine with no problem.

Well built and designed.
Tom Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Sandra F.
Hurt, VA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 1/1/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
23
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
First Time Chain Saw User.
The chainsaw is very easy to use. I did not realize it took that much energy to cut wood. But I am a 60 year old out of shape woman. I consider this a very handy tool for any small cutting or trimming job.
Sandra Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
61
James B.
Los Angeles, CA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 11/23/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
14
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Tool
Best chain saw for pruning and light yard work. I've had many gas and electric. This wins hands down.
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Chain Oil Cap Poorly Designed
James Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
50
William W.
Castleton, VT
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 5/7/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Love This Machine
I know white pines and cedars are not really very hard work for chain saws but that is all I have on my property and some of them came down last winter. At age 72 I am a bit timid of gas chain saws and the noise certainly is not good for my ears even when wearing annoying ear muffs. I gave away my new gas chain saw and bought a G-Max 12" 40v cordless chain saw. It is great for small trimming but it also slices through a 12" white pine with ease.

After making about 6 cuts that size... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Light Weight, Quiet
William Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Dennis F.
Mora, MN
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 1/11/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
28
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Performs As Described/expected
I live in Minnesota and the weather finally warmed up enough to let me get some yard work done with your saw. I used it for a couple of hours today, and it performed as I hoped it would.

The battery seems to provide ample power and "work time"....actually an hour of relatively constant use showed little if any drain on the battery. Chain adjustment is easy and effective. Chain oil reservoir is a bit small, but there doesn't seem to be much unused space to manufacture a larger oil... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Quiet
Cons: Oil Reservoir Size Dull Chain Out Of The Box
Dennis Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Larry R.
Saint Charles, MO
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 12/2/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw!
The saw works very well on limbs no more than 6-7 inches. Holds power for over an hour. I am pleased with the performance.
Larry Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Cathy F.
Fall Creek, WI
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 6/30/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
28
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
"tuff Lil' Guy"
We recently had wind storm and put the saw to good use. This was much more than trimming. There were hard woods like Black Cherry and Oaks along with Pine, Box Elder and Birch. It kept cutting! Taking a bit longer with the first two woods. Only need to learn the trick of how not to have the chain pop off the blade.
Cathy Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Mark B.
Statham, GA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 2/9/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
14
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Product For The Right Person
The electric chainsaw does not work like a gas powered chainsaw. However, if you do not need to cut often and it is small brush...it is a good product.
Mark Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Marlon D.
Indianapolis, IN
REVIEWED
NOV.
21
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Easy -- Wife Can Use It
this is a great saw -- so easy my wife can use it. Keeps her busy while I watch football.
Marlon Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
63
Kristopher M.
Scotts Valley, CA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 8/20/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
No Earmuffs, No Smell, No Run Out Of Power
Just finished third use, and it outlasted me each time. Love the effortless operation versus gas units. Hate the oil tank fill process as you cannot see the level, and burped oil repeatedly long before full. even with trying four funnel sizes and positions to ensure venting.

But oil supply has outlasted each use before charging, ensuring the chain is protected. Tension adjustment works as described. It was this, or an arborist saw at many times the cost. No regrets. Commercial, or big... more
Kristopher Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
20
John O.
Punta Gorda, FL
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 5/17/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good
Have only had it for a week. Works fine, charges quickly, very light. My 72-year-old girlfriend had no trouble using it to saw through 6" log.
John Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Larry G.
St. Petersburg, FL
REVIEWED
DEC.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
12" Bar Just Right For Small Saplings Up To 8" In Diameter
12" bar only gives you about a 10" cutting line. Yes, you can cut larger diameter trees if you attack it from opposite sides but if that's your intent, buy the longer bar.

I use this saw to cut kindling for the cabin. Take it with me when camping to collect kindling. Easy to use, no muss, no fuss, no clogged carburetors. Plenty of torque.

I wish it came with a carry bag. It's a pain to have to carry chargers, battery, oil, extra blade or sharpener without one.
Larry Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Henry C.
De Ridder, LA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 9/8/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
On A 4 Acre Wooded Yard
So far (1 month) it has done what I needed without any problems on wood up to about 3-4 inches.
Henry Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Katherine M.
Manassas, VA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 5/11/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just The Thing
Lightweight, holds a charge, does what I need it to do.

Excellent for lighter duty chainsaw needs.
Katherine Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Katherine's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Everything was just as represented. No hangups with order, delivery. The way things should go."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Robert D.
Decatur, TX
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 2/27/15
REVIEWED
APR.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw!!
This is a great saw ... no mess, gas, cord, etc. Very easy to use ... lasts a long time on a charge ... wish I had bought one a long time ago ... retiring my gas saw!!
Robert Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Robert's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The Best Sump Pump"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Gary W.
Nibley, UT
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 6/2/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
21
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
It Does A Great Job Fop Me!
It is all I hoped it would be. Very satisfied!
Gary Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Gary's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"It is all I hoped it would be. It really works well."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Elaine H.
North Mankato, MN
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 7/4/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It!
Works great - was able to take care of three smaller trees that came down in a storm... fast, quick, and easy... no stinky gas fumes - yay!
Elaine Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Robert S.
Southport, NC
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 12/27/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
08
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Saw !!
So far it works real good for what I use it for.
Robert Recommends This GreenWorks Product
Was this review helpful?
22
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest GreenWorks 20262. cordless chain saw reviews.Compare our GreenWorks 20262. ratings. Find the GreenWorks 20262. cordless chain saw that is right for you.