Search
< Back to Product

Husqvarna 455 Gas Chain Saws Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$439.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$439.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$593.93
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$439.95
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
 
$439.95
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Husqvarna 455 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Pros
I'd Buy It Again (3)
Exceeded Expectations (2)
Easy To Use (1)
Reliable (1)
Durable (1)
Cons
Durability (1)
Unreliable (1)
Nothing (1)
82% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
32 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Chain Saw Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
28 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
1793 Helpful Votes
Chain Saws Direct Recommended

The Rancher series from Husqvarna is aptly named. They are tough, well built saws meant for the demands of a ranch, tree farm, or estate.

The X-Torq engine puts out a lot of cutting power over a wide rpm range, so it will dig in and get the job done on trees, logs, fenceposts- you name it.

Normally a beefy engine would take a beefy arm to start it; but the Smart Start system reduces the compression in the carburetor so turning the motor over won't be the worst part of the day.

It will... more
Dale Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
12520
Tools In Action

Tools In Action
Total Reviews
38 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
387 Helpful Votes
455 Rancher Chainsaw Ė Farm Tough Review
Sometimes you just need a general all around use chainsaw. Husqvarna created the 455 18&#8243; saw for this category. It has plenty of power for almost any task you throw at it and starts easily every time.

Whenever we ask industry forestry pros about the equipment they use, itís always Husqvarna and Stihl. I once brought an Echo chainsaw to a pro for an opinion and he laughed me away. I had major problems with that Echo, but it is a classic case of you get what you pay for. I am a... more
Tools Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
245
Ronald Deprima
Deer Park, NY
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 5/26/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerful
Cut this 31 inch log with ease. I am very happy with my purchase.
View Image
Ronald Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
51
Larry R.
Ash, NC
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
29
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Good Saw But Has Problems
I bought the 455 in Jan 2016. I cut quite a lot of wood with it. The problem is if it is stored with bar oil in it, it will all leak out. Makes quite a mess. Checking the forum, I found this is common. Had I known about this problem, I would not have bought the saw
Was this review helpful?
52
Brad C.
Stratford, CT
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 10/17/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Saw!
Bought this saw as a direct replacement for another saw. Saw works like a dream and even better starts like one. I highly recommend this saw.
Brad Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Brad's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I highly recommend Chain Saws Direct. They have great prices on high quality products and ship extremely fast while keeping you in the loop the entire way. Great to deal with. You wont be disappointed."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Charles F.
Bushnell, FL
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 3/19/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good Chainsaw
Did what I expected & more.
Charles Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Charles's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Working great"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jeremy
Pickens, SC
Total Helpful Votes
30 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
07
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
16.5 Foot Around With An 18 In Bar
I cut a huge wedge then went inside that wedge and cut another then cut clear around the tree deep as the 18 in bar would go- still standing.

Now uneasy i go back to my wedge and slowly take more out.tree pops starts to come down.it pinched my bar. I made 3 attempts to free it as the tree came down, it was time to bail.

I moved out the way and my saw got crushed. These are great saws. I'm going to get me another one. Plenty of power with high rpm. Light weight, you cant beat them.
more
View Image
View Image
Was this review helpful?
303
Aaron S.
Dukedom, TN
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 2/17/13
Total Helpful Votes
32 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husky Vs. Stihl
My father has owned, used(punished), and loved his Stihl chainsaw for 22yrs.. I fall short at remembering the model #, but he has ran it with an 18" bar to do all things required on our farm. At times in my life I was convinced that my father would rather run a saw then breath. Anyway, I decided to upgrade my saw status and started shopping around. In October 2011 dad and I spent some time in the Santa Cruz Mtns. in California cutting trees- I ran a 455 Husqvarna. Dad ran a 220 Stihl. The... more
Was this review helpful?
3211
Chance H.
Total Helpful Votes
18 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
26
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quality And Craftmanship
I have been around a few saws of all types and classes. I have owned a 16 inch, 340 Husqvarna since '06 & have loved that saw for cutting firewood and limbing trees. I have cut about 120 cords of wood with it.

I decided it needed a partner, so in my own research decided on the 455 rancher 20 inch. I have cut 4 cords with it. I really like the power- it runs the 20 inch bar very well.

It has good balance and power; the weight is not bad at all for me. The oiler for the bar and chain... more
Was this review helpful?
181
Jesus R.
El Paso, TX
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 12/5/14
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Chain Saw
Great chain saw, very happy with the performance, good balance and at the age of 65 I can handle it for several hours!!
Jesus Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
120
Shaun Woodard
King George, VA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 9/14/11
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
54 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
OCT.
14
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Knowledge For Service Tech
To Whom can help,

I contacted service rep. before ordering 18' Powersharp Starter kit, and was told it would fit my Husqvarna 455 (has 20' bar on it now). Service member told me it would work. Once I received kit tried to install and Chain adjustment pin to is to big does not fix hole in Powersharp bar. Need some help on where to go from here, replace, modify, or return?

To which I got the response, you sure can sent it back if you pay for shipping and read our return policy. Which says... more
Was this review helpful?
154
Harley J.
Silver City, NM
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 1/26/12
Total Helpful Votes
12 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Huge Tree
On our farm we had a very big mulberry tree we needed to cut down and into firewood. We had several smaller chain saws but I knew I needed a lot more of a saw.

I ordered and got the 455 Rancher with a 20 inch bar because I needed to longer bar just to be able to cut it down. I was really amazed at the ease of falling the tree and it really suprised me at the speed it cut and finished up the entire project in one afternoon.

I am telling all of my friends and relatives about... more
Was this review helpful?
122
Phillip Petry
Hedgesville, WV
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect Chainsaw
I occasionally use it; I have a 20'' bar and a 38 chain on it.

I have cut up a lot of hard hickory with it- by far the best chainsaw I have ever used.
Was this review helpful?
133
David N.
Bartonville, TX
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 5/20/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Buyer Beware
The saw was delivered to my home. I took it out of the box and added fuel and oil. After 3 pulls the saw started and idled, yet when the accelerater was pushed "nothing" happened. Had to take the saw to an "authorized" repair center. There is a two and a half week backlog and wait for the saw to be repaired. Still waiting... Husqavarna got my $ and I got the shaft. Should have bought the Stihl.
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
David,
Husqvarna should be inspecting your saw and repairing your saw as covered under warranty. This is a link to Husqvarna's dealer locator. There may be a local dealer that can get you in for repair sooner.

HUSQVARNA DEALER LOCATOR
more
David's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great customer service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
70
Bill
REVIEWED
MAY.
14
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna Chain Not As Good As Oregon?
Bought a Husky 455 18 inch. Very happy with the saw, started right up, plenty of power.

The chain on the other hand (H80-68) is not very aggressive, probably because they want it to be a low chance of kickback type chain. In this area it is fine, but in cutting speed it is not as good as an Oregon chain I bought to replace it.

CSD RESPONDS: You may be comparing two different styles of chain, since Oregon make all the bars & chains for Husqvarna.
Was this review helpful?
70
Kirk B.
Elbow Lake, MN
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 12/29/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Husqvarna
I've had a Stihl saw all my life and never had an issue. I made the decision to go to Husky mainly for cost consideration. Understanding I've only run the saw two weeks now, I will honestly say they make a good saw.

My 455 leaks a little bar oil when in the back of the Ranger but not that much and no big deal. I am a stihl fan but I have no complaints with the 455. Runs great, has plenty of power(I have a 18" bar).

Time will tell. I have a Stihl that's over 30 years old and still... more
Kirk Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Robert D.
Camden, NY
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 10/13/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
16
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Geat Chainsaw
We bought this saw for my father-in-law who owns 140 acres in upstate New York. He was struggling with an old saw he had and we surprised him with this saw which he absolutely loves. HE CUTS WOOD LIKE BUTTER and he even saves time time b/c it's not breaking down. It's not too heavy and we feel great knowing he is not struggling anymore. Wonderful saw!!
Robert Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
71
Ray H.
Citronelle, AL
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 10/7/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw
Great saw, plenty of power for any cut. Very good buy.
Ray Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Sidney J.
Lancaster, OH
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 3/9/13
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Homeowner
Satisfied with the service and speed of delivery and in getting the right ones for my saw, another site I tried wasn't as accurate.
Was this review helpful?
71
Todd R.
Piqua, OH
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 3/25/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Chainsaw I've Ever Owned
I took it out in Apirl after heavy storms. Used it all day it never failed from small limbs to 36inch dia that I had to quarter. I love the adj. oil flow to the bar one great saw.
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, It Is A Cutn Beast
Todd Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Doug
Pittsfield, ME
REVIEWED
JAN.
24
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Saw
I purchased this saw at my local husq dealer for $389 with a 2 year warranty. They will service it there if anything goes wrong. Support your local economy
Was this review helpful?
83
Kenneth Jones
Hot Springs, AR
REVIEWED
DEC.
26
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Top Saw
I use mine daily it has great power. Starts easy every time. Glad I made this choice.

If you're not going to use often then I would get the 16" bar- my son has it and it is as dependable. I have owned other saws from Craftsman to Poulan you get what you pay for, I will say that.

I always us Husqvarna oils in the saw and mix Stay-bil fuel mix in all fuels. With Ethanol in fuel its shelf life without Sta-bil is 30 days. Then it breaks down.
Was this review helpful?
40
James S.
Armagh, PA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 10/17/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Back In The Game
I needed a chain saw to clean up my property. I promised my neighbor the apple wood if they cut it up. When their Stile quit working properly my Rancher arrived and they were quite impressed with the time it took to have the remaining trees cut up and ready for pick-up. They said I was showing off but I knew it was the Rancher that was showing off.
James Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Felix M.
Quail Valley, CA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 1/16/15
REVIEWED
APR.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Investment
I owned a smaller Husqvarna before this. I wanted a similar machine. The people at the big store were not at all helpful. I purchased this saw on a whim. I am very pleased abut my purchase.

A little heavy at first, but well worth the price and extra weight. I own 2 acres of land and all that go with it.
Felix Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Kevin B.
Weatherford, OK
REVIEWED
APR.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Stole This Today!!!!
Took a 445 back to Tractor Supply Company that I bought Sunday, 4/21/13 because it wasn't performing correctly. A lot of that was my fault but TSC has a one year walk in and get the same type if it's screwing up. They had started a clearance sale and I traded up ($+30.00) from the 445. The 455 was on sale for $299.99. The 445 was working great w/its 16" blade, but now I got a 20". Going to put that animal to use tomorrow. Based on the 445, I am sure the 455 will perform even better. more
Was this review helpful?
63
James
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 12/10/12
REVIEWED
JAN.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mr. Mfg. Eng.
I was very well please with the way Chains Saws Direct handled my order.
They were very informative as to when the product would ship and tentative arrival date.
Also, their saw was very competitive priced. I used my saw the day I received it, right out of the box, just added oil and gas. I would recommend this company to anyone looking for a good source.
Thanks for your attentiveness.
Was this review helpful?
30
Roy
Fort Wayne, IN
REVIEWED
NOV.
22
2011
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
455 Rancher
I have this saw. It runs and cuts great and has a lot of power. I did have a problem with the chain break locking up numerous times so I took it out.
Was this review helpful?
42
Leonard S.
Thorntown, IN
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 4/8/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Features
I really like the technology behind the intake filtration! Overall it's everything you'd ever need in a saw. Efficient, lightweight, and lightning fast!
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations, Fast
Leonard Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Leonard's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very glad to have happened upon Chain Saws Direct. I tell everyone I know about it. Went through the reviews, watched a few videos, and selected my saw. I don't know if it is the norm, but it was delivered to my front door in two days, with free shipping!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
32
Dwain S.
Las Vegas, NV
REVIEWED
NOV.
04
2011
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
455 Rancher Problem
The 455 Rancher I bought at Sears has turned into a pain in the rear. The engine runs great, but it throws chains like crazy, which ruins the chain. I bought a 455 with a 20 inch bar, which is now OBSOLETE. I bought the machine just 2 years ago. I'd like to change out the bar to the bigger guide width size, but no info is available. I've been told the 460 bar and chain will not fit the 455. Original Husqvarna equipment is hard to come by if u need something fast.
Was this review helpful?
32
Lorna S.
Kinross, LA
REVIEWED
MAY.
10
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
More Cutting
I decided to buy a chain saw for my husband for a Christmas present. I looked at all of the Husqvarna's and decided to go with the 455 Rancher 20" bar. When my husband used it, he was very impressed with the handling ( he normally used a Stihl). One day I decided to use the chain saw and I was pretty impressed. It's a little heavy to use but then again I am a medium build female.
If you are looking for a good chain saw to use for any kind of cutting, get this one because you will not be... more
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Nothing
Lorna Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
22
Steven
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 10/20/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
02
2012
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Having Problems
Can't figure what is going on with the chains. I've purchsed 4 chains, one after the other because they seem to be getting chewed up and then won't fit back into bar. i'm not doing anything unusual. I recently purchased from you another chain and bar to see if that makes a difference. It didn't!! I only used the recently new chain for a short time, only cutting basic stuff and the same thing happened. Chain gets chewed up and can't fit back in bar. I have 4 chains that I should be able... more
Was this review helpful?
1212
Brian
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Not Impressed
This saw motor does not have enough horsepower to properly pull a 20 inch chain.
Pros: Features
Cons: Unreliable, Durability
Was this review helpful?
35
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Husqvarna 455 gas chain saw reviews.Compare our Husqvarna 455 ratings. Find the Husqvarna 455 gas chain saw that is right for you.