Search
< Back to Product

Husqvarna 460 Gas Chain Saws Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$509.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$509.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$499.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$614.27
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Husqvarna 460 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (8)
Reliable (6)
I'd Buy It Again (6)
High Quality (4)
Price (4)
Cons
Durability (3)
Unreliable (2)
Low Quality (2)
Both Chain Saws Ate Chai... (1)
Heavy (1)
83% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
56 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Chain Saw Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
28 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
1788 Helpful Votes
Chain Saws Direct Recommended

As we said in our Better recommendation, the Rancher series is very popular for it's power, reliability, and durability.

Our Best pick is very similar to our Better pick; but brawnier. The bigger engine and longer bar are awesome; and will cut fast and strong, all day long.

All those features and all that power are not for the faint of heart or arm. This unit is 14 pounds of serious chain saw- well balanced and with vibration control, but a handful none the less.

The 460 Rancher will... more
Dale Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
13224
Peter M.
Latrobe, PA
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Seems Like A Good Saw.
Been heating my house for 38 years with wood. I cut a lot in my time. Had all kinds of saws from home lite to mcCollouch to Polan and only got 2-3 years out of then. Had a Stihl 028 super woods boss for 15 years and it cost mr over 1200 dollars in repairs. Then I went to a Dolmar 510 a good saw only put a bar and 2 chains on it but it cut like a rough workout.

Then last year September of 2015 went and bought a new husky rancher 460 and it seems to be a good saw. Cuts comfortable,very... more
Peter Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
41
Dorothy F.
Conway, SC
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 10/11/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
24
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Saw But Chain Oiler Doesn't Work
Great saw for the money but having alot of issues with the chain oiler.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable, Price
Cons: Bad chain oiler
Dorothy Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Ken C.
New Buffalo, MI
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 2/18/16
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAR.
06
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
One Super Nice Saw
Needed a bigger saw have always owned sthil brand but thought I would try Husqvarna and I am very pleased with the performance so far has cut my time down about half really does a nice job with out being too heavy
Ken Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Ed B.
Mineral Springs, AR
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 12/15/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ed
Nice saw - it is a backup for my 1989 Husqvarna 266 which is still going strong---all is well
Ed Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Howdy R.
Parachute, CO
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 6/2/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
08
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Saw
Works well, Good balance .
Only thing is it gets hot. Boils the gas, then vapor-locks and wont start back up.
I solve this by keeping another saw sharp and ready, then swap them out until it cools off.
Howdy Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Joseph R.
Tehachapi, CA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 8/11/13
Total Helpful Votes
48 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
03
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Incorrect Cover Assemble Delivered With Rancher Chainsaw
Upon delivery, I had an incredible problem trying to remove the clutch cover. When I finally did, and after removing the packing pacer – I attempted to reinstall the cover. But, it would not go on! Thinking, what am I doing wrong all day – going on you-tube to find out why I was messing up this simple task. And eventually came to the conclusion that the BRAKE BAND was the incorrect size. Since it was only a theory from a so-so mechanical guy – I pondered and pondered. So I eventually made my... more
Was this review helpful?
4816
Dave Smalley
West Sayville, NY
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 12/8/12
Total Helpful Votes
35 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
20
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Animal
I am not one for believing in reviews because you don't know who is writing them.
I am a real person who bought the 460 and believe me when I tell you its a great saw.
I had a 40 inch log I had to get through.
I decided to see what the saw had. (mind you it has a 20 inch blade). Let me just say wow.
It went through no problem. I didn't force the saw.
I didn't have to, it just tore right into it. down one side then the next over and over again with ease.
I am extremely happy with my... more
Was this review helpful?
354
Randy
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 2/20/13
Total Helpful Votes
30 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAR.
14
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Alpine Oak
After trying many Home Cheapo saws I decided to bite the bullet and spend the bucks for a good saw. This was best decision I've ever made. I got the Husqvarna 460, pleanty of spare power even cutting dry Oak, easy to start, noice level not bad for a large cc motor. Overall a great saw, I love it.
Was this review helpful?
303
John
Total Helpful Votes
21 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Had The Same Rancher For 15 Years
I bought my Rancher 15 years ago and have cut 10 to 15 cords of wood a year. Other than general minor repairs this saw keeps cutting. I have just started to have problems with her carburetor (thanks to corn ethanol) so I intend to buy a new one and use the old one as a backup. Great saw would highly recommend it. Use marine gas it doesn't contain ethanol.
Pros: Durable, Reliable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
John Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
211
Raube R.
Philippi, WV
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 11/4/12
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
45 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
25
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Proud Owner Of Best Chain Saw On Market
I have owned several chain saws over the last several years and have always had to pull the starter cord several times to get the last ones I purchased (Stihl 390 and 250) both have been a pain to start. I had the starter cord replaced the first week on the 390 and it broke every time I took it out to use it.

That is when I decided enough is enough and ordered the Husqvarna 460 and it started on the second pull after using the primer bulb; and it has started every time I picked it up to... more
Was this review helpful?
224
Kevin
Total Helpful Votes
20 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
28
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome And Powerful Saw!!!
Used it for the first time yesterday, already own the 455 18 inch (fantastic). This 460 Rancher is the 24 inch version- LOVE the 60cc powerful engine- the 24 inch pixel saw chain cuts through my Texas hardwood trees like butter without a grunt, spark or over-heating! LOVE Husqvarna! Easy to start, easy to adjust tension, etc.

Simply awesome so far!!!
Was this review helpful?
205
Arnold B.
Sammamish, WA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 5/3/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
17
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Works Great, But.......
The saw arrived with a defect. The fuel line from the tank to the carburetor was not attached. So, when I tried to start it, I got a foot full of gas and the saw didn't run.

Now the fun begins. I wanted to return it to Chainsaw Direct, but they wouldn't take it back because I put fuel in it. Nice catch 22 situation. My advice, but it from a brick and mortar dealer in your area and pay the sales tax. Consider it insurance.

Anyway, I now had a dead chainsaw that I couldn't use. I contacted... more
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Low Quality, Bad Instructions, Poor Brake Design
Was this review helpful?
239
Matt H.
Cumming, GA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 2/13/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Put My Previous Chainsaw To Shame
Earlier this year my area was hit with an ice storm causing a massive tree to topple over at the trunk. Fortunately it landed along the property line and avoided destroying either mine or my neighbors house. When the weather warmed up i took my Proulan Pro out to cut it up.

After trying for 30 minutes I was unable to get it started. Looked up some videos on Youtube and from what I found out it would cost almost as much to repair it as it would to buy another one. I had previously bought a... more
Matt Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
151
Tim
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 4/2/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
04
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw
Cuts great easy to start but 20 pounds gets heavy if you're using it all day.
Was this review helpful?
162
Randy B.
Wilson, NC
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 5/31/11
REVIEWED
JUN.
22
2011
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Great Saw But I Wouldn't Buy On Line
Received the saw and had to attached the blade and cahian. The clutch clover , when removed , the chain lock ( safety feature) was enagage and I could turn spring to release it so, the cover would not go back on the clutch, which means that saw was useless until fixed. Call and Husqvarna told me to take to local repair shop. because I didn't buy the unit there, he explained what needed to be done and it wasn't a big deal, but he couldn't get to it for six weeks. I ordered unit because I needed... more
Was this review helpful?
110
Roy W.
Westerville, OH
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 7/9/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
03
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Huge Mistake - Not Farm Tough
I bought the Husky 460 Rancher because it was rated to be "FARM TOUGH". Simply not true.

I drive 120 miles to get to my 80 acre farm with 57 acres of woods needing lots of trees to be removed. On three separate weekends, I took my chain saw to the farm, used it for a short period and ended up finishing the job with either my 45 year old hand bow saw, my branch trimmer or my Homelite $99 chain saw which has cut for 20 years. Hardly an endorsement for Husqvarna.

The Chain... more
Pros: Features
Cons: Unreliable, Durability, No Customer Support On Weekends, Eats Chains
Roy's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"I relied on the recommendations for the selection of this chain saw, selecting the type and size of chain saw based on recommendations of experts. The Saw did not live up to expectations. I have purchased over $30,000 worth of Farm equipment this past year and this Saw was the WORST and most frustrating purchase by far."
 more
Was this review helpful?
2617
Paul
Freehold, NJ
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 11/27/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
18
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Duckman
I had a Poulan pro 405 plus until it died this year. Parts are just about impossible to find anymore so my wife let me get a new saw.

The 460 Rancher is 5cc smaller but boy does it cut well. It is comfortable and well balanced to use. After Sandy rolled through our neighborhood, needless to say we have more trees on the farm to cut than I care to count. Locust, Oak, and other hardwoods and so far this saw has handled everything with relative ease. I say that because it had a new... more
Was this review helpful?
123
Russell
Price, UT
REVIEWED
MAY.
22
2011
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Husqvarna Completely Failed Me
I bought the expensive Rancher model, but was in a car accident a few days later. The unopened saw went into the garage for two years while I recuperated and went through therapy. When my physician finally gave me the OK to use my back, I un-boxed the chainsaw and started cutting some trees on my property.

After 3 hours the machine started making a racket and started vibrating so badly I could hardly hold it.

I took it in to Sears to send it in for repairs, but after several weeks,... more
Was this review helpful?
145
Patrick
Seattle, WA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 3/15/12
REVIEWED
MAR.
30
2012
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Bad Out Of The Box
I ordered a recon. from another store. It had only been wiped down and shipped dirty. Ordered another, only a new one. The chain brake prevented me from removing the cover and when I got it off finally, I couldn't reinstall it again. I called the service center closest to my home and was told they don't work on them. No advice on how to put it back together. All others are pretty far from home, requiring further investment. I called the Husqvarna help number and talked over a really bad... more
Was this review helpful?
113
Joseph
Wilbraham, MA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 5/30/11
REVIEWED
JUN.
21
2011
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
How Could This Happen?
During the "break-in" period of my newly purchased saw, the chain break assembly malfunctioned resulting in the chain being "locked" in position. Several attempts were made to clear and re-set the spring action to no avail. The assembly was removed from the saw and we continue to use the saw without the chain break. The saw does run well and does it's job well. Never expected the malfunction to occur at this point in time (New Saw) but it did!
Was this review helpful?
92
Jerry
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 8/7/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
29
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy Starts
I really like my new Rancher 460 Husqvarna chain saw. It has plenty of power for the tough jobs.

The compression release makes for easy starts. This a plus for me- nothing is more aggravating than a saw that is hard to start. Mine starts on the first or second pull every time.

Thanks for a excellent product!
Was this review helpful?
71
Larry
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 6/25/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
16
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wow On My New 460
I purchased my new saw to replace the 450e that was recently stolen. I was very impressed and basically happy with my 450e but all I can say is wow on my new 460.

Even though my original saw did the job, I really had to work cutting from side to side with the smaller 18 inch bar on some of the bigger trees I had to cut from my property up north.

The 460 has great power and the longer 20 inch bar made easy work of multiple very large fallen trees that I cleared away from my deer... more
Was this review helpful?
60
Sandra
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Owner
The chainsaw, when I finally got it together. I think the brake assembly could use some sort of better idea. However it started right up after putting oil and gas in it . I cut through some big logs and was necessary to cut through from both sides. The chain was sharp and it did well with little pressure. I have two huskies. The 480 being the bigger of the two and both need that chain brake assembly redone, makes changing chains a pain in the butt.
Was this review helpful?
116
Joe V.
Bayville, NJ
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 12/13/12
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna Ripper
100% satisfied with this saw. Runs great plenty of power.
Was this review helpful?
83
Eugene
San Antonio, TX
REVIEWED
DEC.
21
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna Is The Only Saw I Will Use.
I first used a Husqvarna chainsaw in 1985 while working in the hills of the Lake of the Ozarks. We did timber release and clear-cut work. We lived in the woods in fifth-wheelers. Used 3-wheelers to get to destinations to cut.

My chainsaw was used 8-10 hours a day for 2 and a half years. It was a 266 Husqvarna, with today's new classifications it simply is like my new Rancher 460. The prior saw lasted me 20 years.

Upon receiving my new Rancher 460, the order was efficient and... more
Was this review helpful?
50
Randy M.
Escalon, CA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 7/21/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid Work Horse
This is a great chainsaw. It works well with the larger bar, but with the 20" bar with all that power behind it it's a real hot rod of a saw. It might seem a little heavy, but wait till you feel it fall through a big log. Starts every time too. only 4 stars for "features" because it doesn't come with a case.
Randy Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
51
Roy W.
Westerville, Oh, OH
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 9/17/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
11
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Not Farm Tough !!!!!
I bought the Husky 460 Rancher Chainsaw in order to clear the dead trees and many of the fallen logs on my 80 acre Farm in Southeast Ohio. The first one was returned under Warranty since it ate 2 chains which were unable to be used once they came off the track. I finally had time this past weekend (November 10, 2013) to clear some fallen trees and cut some fallen logs on the 56 Acres of Woods on the Farm.
First, the chain saw didn't start when I used some of the Oil/Gas Mix I had made... more
Cons: Durability, Low Quality, Unreliable, Both Chain Saws Ate Chains
Was this review helpful?
128
Ed T.
Mifflinburg, PA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 10/2/11
REVIEWED
OCT.
23
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sawman Impressed
I Must Say I Am Very Impressed With My New Husky 460 Rancher W20" Bar!!

When I Received It I Assembled It, Filled It With Gas and Chain Oil, Primed It and It Started On the Second Pull! That Was Just the Start.

the Very Next Day I Helped a Friend Cut Up a Bunch of Big Logs For Firewood. He's a Sthil Man and Always Has Been. He Joked With Me That I Was Bringing a Kids Toy to Do a Mans Job!

Well, to Make a Long Story Short, I Showed Him Who Was the Man and Who Had the Mans... more
Was this review helpful?
40
Edward S.
Cheyenne, WY
REVIEWED
JUN.
11
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Had One...
I had never owned a chain saw before...Never used one to any extent...I bought the 460...and was I ever surprised...It cut with not a problem...Easy to use...I still have all my fingers and hands...UNTIL...some one stole it from me.

They got a good chain saw...Waaaa...Maybe I'll be lucky enough to get a new one...This one I'll keep under lock and key. If I get a new one...

I'd give it ten stars were there ten to give...
Was this review helpful?
40
Troy A.
Dawsonville, GA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 5/23/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Purchase
Well satisfied with the 460 /20. Arrived on time as promised. Allowed me to retire a Stihl (boat anchor-that seldom would run and always in the shop).. and an Echo 440/20 which was a hard worker but not up to bigger tasks. I would recommend this for medium to hard jobs. I haven't used it long enough to know about warranty in case it ever fails.
Troy Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
41
Walter J.
El Centro, CA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 10/1/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
More Power Than The 55 Rancher
I used the 55 rancher, this one has just the power to go when the 55 doesn't.
Walter Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
52
Andrew Moody
Waynesboro, MS
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 8/14/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just Bought Me A Husqvarna 460 Rancher.
Love my new husqvarna 460 rancher chainsaw. It has exceeded my expectations.

Easy to use, cranks extremely easy, runs good. Only drawback is its kinda heavy. Other than that it is a great chainsaw.
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Heavy
Andrew Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Andrew's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Good website very well put together. They took my order and shipped it right out. Kudos for that! Would definitely recommend to a friend."
 more
Was this review helpful?
41
Todd F.
Spokane Valley, WA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 11/23/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
14
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Quality Chainsaw
I had my Stihl MS310 chain saw that I owned for the past 12 years stolen out of my garage, ugh. It had been a super good reliable saw. So, when I started looking for a replacement I decided to look around. I found this one to be the best value. Plus, when I ordered it I didn't pay shipping or sales tax. I decided to try it out and it ran very well. I have yet to use it on a fire wood excursion.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Reliable, Light Weight, Price
Todd Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Todd Would Recommend Chain Saws Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The website was easy to use and get the info I needed. The pro's reviews I found to be helpful as well."
 more
Was this review helpful?
41
Jeff W.
Gallatin, TN
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 10/7/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
New Husky 460 Rancher
I had a 55 Rancher 18'' that was a good saw. I fried it after 13 years of use. This saw is more powerful, easier to start and is just awesome. I do have oil leaking from the bar oiler all the time, so it will need to be looked at for that. I have opened the cap to release the pressure but it still keeps coming out. I thought it was a little expensive but I will save lots of time getting through cuts faster with this saw!
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Durability, Expensive
Jeff Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Jeff Would Recommend Chain Saws Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"I was able to read reviews on Chain Saws Direct and find the saw that I needed. The online order was easy and the shipping was free, what's not to like...other than getting oil everywhere!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Kenneth M.
Littleton, NC
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 8/3/13
REVIEWED
OCT.
25
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Right Saw For Me
Used website to guide me to the exactly the right saw for me, my early experience with the saw has been outstanding. Easy start, good cutting, light weight, perfect saw for me.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations
Kenneth Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Kenneth Would Recommend Chain Saws Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Needed help in selecting a new saw, the website was perfect, easy to use, informative and led me to the right choice."
 more
Was this review helpful?
41
Dave
Shingletown, CA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 12/15/12
REVIEWED
JAN.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My New Husky
I Freaking Love That Saw!!!!
Was this review helpful?
96
Tommy
REVIEWED
FEB.
19
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Strong Spring
That saw is a real HOSS....but I had a problem with it... The brake has a series of notches that were not lined up. That is where the strong spring comes in. It was a real bugger to get it in the correct place but I was able to fix it myself.

After that it did what it was suppose to do and more.

CSD RESPONDS: Husqvarna has a factory warranty on their saws; you can call them at 800-487-5951 to find the closest Authorized Service location.

They would have been happy to adjust the... more
Was this review helpful?
41
Herman Yellowhair
Page, AZ
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 9/17/10
REVIEWED
OCT.
04
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love The Bigger Saw
I bought a 345 but it was not enough. Bought the 460 Rancher and lots of power! Wow.

Cuts great and did not have any problems. Love the new bigger saw!
Was this review helpful?
30
Dennis M.
Mustang, OK
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 8/24/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
14
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Tool At A Great Price
I needed to replace a Stihl chainsaw with comparable specifications to the Husqvarna saw that I selected. So far I've logged a bit over 20 hours of use with the Husqvarna saw and I'm extremely pleased with the saws performance. I estimate that I saved a bit under $100 by purchasing via Chainsaws Direct. I got exactly the tool I needed at a great price and delivery was right on schedule.
Dennis Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Jeremy J.
Newalla, OK
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 3/30/15
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best!
She goes hard all day!!
Pros: Reliable, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Fast
Jeremy Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Herbert L.
Brush, CO
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 3/17/15
REVIEWED
APR.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Story
Started on the third pull after adding fuel.
Herbert Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
42
Travis
REVIEWED
OCT.
24
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Needed Bigger Saw
I just purchased this saw and have already cut 3 cord of firewood. I generally cut between 4-8 cords per year. Its still early yet but so far, I'm pleased. This saw is an upgrade to my 13 year old Husqvarna 350 which is still a good saw but needed something bigger for the size logs I'm cutting. The Rancher 460 has handled 24" logs no problem. Plenty of power. Happy customer so far.
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Fast
Travis Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
31
David W.
Greenfield, IN
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 8/6/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
28
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fast Service
Excellent saw easy to start and cuts like a pro. Plenty of power and nicely balanced.
Pros: Durable, Features, Easy To Use, Quiet, Price, Light Weight, Exceeded Expectations, Fast, Reliable, High Quality, Easy To Store, I'd Buy It Again
David Recommends This Husqvarna Product
David Would Recommend Chain Saws Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Excellent chain saw!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Scott
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excelent Saw. Best Hands Down!
So my Dad has a Stihl Farm Boss and thinks its the greatest. He seems to be fixing it every time we cut, but continues to like it.

I had purchased a Husky 460 shortly after his purchase, Not a doubt the Husky out cuts the Stihl.

No issues like Dads, and cuts with ease. He hates to admit but the Husky cuts better and has longer bar for better range.

Ive caught him a time or two using my saw...some day he will learn.
Was this review helpful?
31
Roger Gray
Marksville, LA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 8/25/11
REVIEWED
SEP.
16
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Owner
Best chain saw I have owned.

Had a Farmboss Stihl saw before this and it was a lemon.Its compression ring was broke and would die on me all the time. I replaced ring and did good for a week,and started to do same thing.

My new Husqvarna 460 handles any thing I throw at it. Cut down 25 inch tree and 2, 20 inch, and cut into fire wood lengths.

This thing is very powerful, I give it a 10+ rating and highly recommend it to any one who needs power. I thought it was a bit heavy at first,... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Andrea Leinen
Wheatland, WY
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 7/17/10
REVIEWED
JUL.
25
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Scary Tree
I bought my husband this chain saw after his sister had asked him to cut down some pine trees in her yard that had died because of pine beetle infestation.

One tree was 24" in diameter at the base and about 50' to 60' tall. He had never cut down a tree with that large of a base before, and we were both a little nervous. (Our family asked if his life insurance was current when he started to cut it.)

The saw performed exceptionally well. We've owned numerous other chain saws, and... more
Was this review helpful?
42
Brian
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 11/30/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
22
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Chain Saw
Great saw, not to heavy, and cuts right thru anything that I can put in front of it.
Easy to start easy to operate great fast delivery A++++
Was this review helpful?
10
Gregory R.
Ormond Beach, FL
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 1/29/12
REVIEWED
FEB.
20
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Chain Saw
I've gone through 4 department store chain saws over the past ten years.

This is a totally different experience for me. This chain saw is not a toy but a real high quality tool.

I've already used it twice. I look forward to many years of good service from this chain saw.
Was this review helpful?
21
Warren E.
Upper Black Eddy, PA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 4/10/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
25
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The 460
After super storm Sandy, I had over 30 large trees down on my property. With the help of this saw, we are slowly getting cleaned up.
Was this review helpful?
33
Larry L.
Deatsville, AL
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 5/7/12
REVIEWED
MAY.
29
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Have A Chain Saw!
Ordered my Husky (from another company) and 15 days later it still had not shipped! I canx my order and picked your company.

A few days later my new saw arrived, no oil or extra chain included, and more money, but I have a chain saw!!!
Was this review helpful?
11
David
Mendocino, CA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 9/10/11
REVIEWED
SEP.
23
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw
Tons of power, little vibration- strong saw.

Easy purchase, fast shipping, little assembly.

Thank you Chain Saws Direct.
Was this review helpful?
11
Chris Martin
Leicester, NC
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 2/27/10
REVIEWED
MAR.
23
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It
So far I love it- Thank You!
Was this review helpful?
11
William
Demopolis, AL
REVIEWED
JAN.
23
2011
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Parts Purchase
I am very satisfied with the items purchased. Price and delivery was good.
Was this review helpful?
13
Dave
Rock Port, MO
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw
Have 2 smaller Stihl saws & love them. Thought I'd try this one after reading reviews.

I haven't used the saw too much yet but it starts easy and runs great.
Was this review helpful?
25
Dave
Big Bear City, CA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 12/6/12
REVIEWED
JAN.
03
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Greatest Invention Ever
I purchased this for my Husqvarna 350 and it doesn't fit.
So I'm looking for my smaller chain saw to see if it might fit that.
Overall I think this will be great. So make sure you have the right size chainsaw before you buy.
Thanks, Dave H.
Was this review helpful?
513
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Husqvarna 460 gas chain saw reviews.Compare our Husqvarna 460 ratings. Find the Husqvarna 460 gas chain saw that is right for you.