Search
< Back to Product

Husqvarna 966 04 83-34 Gas Chain Saws Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$519.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$519.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$519.95
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$519.95
No Sales Tax* (Except CA,GA)
Visit Site
Husqvarna 966 04 83-34 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 5
Pros
Fast (6)
Exceeded Expectations (5)
I'd Buy It Again (4)
Price (3)
Durable (3)
Cons
Heavy (2)
No Rebate (1)
Low Quality (1)
Expensive (1)
I Live At 6200 Ft Elevat... (1)
93% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
31 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Mark A.
Edinboro, PA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 2/17/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
MAR.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Service And Speed
I've had the saw a few weeks and been in the woods 6 times with it. The saw fired up on the 5th pull the very first time I started it, and hasn't needed 2 pulls since. Very reliable and cuts 15" rounds as easily as 6" ones. It feels like the weight of the saw just drops it thru the wood.
Mark Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Mark's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Late on a Thursday evening I decided to finally order a 460 Rancher. The website was easy to navigate and I was confident that I had hit all the right buttons, and I elected to have it shipped to my work. I received a confirmation in a few minutes that the order was in the system. Friday I checked back and saw a tracking number and shipping schedule for a Monday delivery. Monday morning the saw was delivered by FedEx. I already knew the product was great, I had just not dealt with Chain Saws Direct before. I was very good experience and have recommended them to 2 of my friends that are looking to buy new saws."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Dean K.
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 4/30/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Mine Husqvarna 460 (24'') Bar Chainsaw
I love this chainsaw ..not heavy, well balance with the 24'' bar..easy start up with that compression release and cuts the logs with ez of the power it has !

Thank you.
Dean Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Dean's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I had one years ago a model 55 , did a lot of cutting for firewood - it ran flawless..no issues. I work in the lumber mill for 27 years and my company uses Stihl chainsaws and they always having trouble shoot with them is why I still chooses the Husqvarna for my personal use!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Harry A.
Chiloquin, OR
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 3/19/16
REVIEWED
APR.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna 460 Rancher (24") 60.3cc Chain Saw
My big Pine tree was totally saturated when the wind took it down along with power lines, one pole and my fence. My little saw with a 20" bar was burning it self up and had to keep sharpening it (3x total).

I bought the Husky and it cut that sucker like butter. Was expensive but I have a very large Willow to take down and I heat/cook w/wood in the winter.
Harry Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Harry's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Just did!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
John W.
Garland, TX
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 10/28/15
REVIEWED
APR.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna 460 Rancher (24") 60.3cc Chain Saw
shortly after buying this saw I went to my brothers house and help him cut down 7 trees. We cut trees for 2 days and ended up with over 3 cords of wood with no issues.

The saw worked flawlessly the entire time, it went thru every tree with no effort at all, and whatever cutting angle I used the saw just worked never stale never hesitated.

This is by far the best chainsaw I have ever used, I found it to be light and basically vibration free and caused no hand or arm fatigue. this saw... more
Pros: Fast, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable
John Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Stephen H.
Suffolk, VA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 10/17/16
REVIEWED
NOV.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect!
Read the manual from first page to end and learned much. This saw starts easily every time when you follow the procedure. Very powerful saw.
Pros: Fast, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use
Stephen Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Stephen's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Came quickly!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Terry G.
Lakeview, OR
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 9/17/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw!
Cuts like a champ. I love the lightweight and low vibration. Cut a load of juniper in no time at all even without running it at full throttle, like the operator manual says for the first 10 hours.
Terry Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Carl C.
Foresthill, CA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 10/3/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Machine
My Husky 50 has served me well for 27 years (300 year anniversary model). Time to replace it and bought the Husky 460. Brought down a 120 foot Douglas Fir, bumped the knots and cut into fire logs in about 20 minutes. Very nice machine.
Carl Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Terry G.
Lakeview, OR
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 9/17/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
OCT.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw!
Cuts like a champ. Love the light weight and low vibration. Cut a load of juniper in no time at all even without running it at full throttle, like the operator manual says for the first 10 hours.
Terry Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Chris D.
New York, NY
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 9/7/16
REVIEWED
OCT.
03
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Chainsaw!
I recently purchased this chainsaw and am very glad I did. This bad boy was cutting through 26-28" thick fallen tree base like it was butter. Starts up with one pull when warm and then 2-3 otherwise. GREAT machine!
Chris Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Chris's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast and easy experience with this company. Lots of information to review to help me make an informed decision. Thanks!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Pat
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw
Good power, start easy, easy to operate, good on gas, easy to maintain. I would recommend this to everyone that has some big jobs to do. It's not a tree climbing saw, but on the ground it's hard to beat.
Pat Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Mamuel S.
Philadelphia, PA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 7/9/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My 460 Rancher
I bought this chainsaw to cut down nine trees on my property in Florida. This chainsaw was perfect for this job. Love it!!!
Mamuel Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Mamuel's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I brought the 460 rancher to cut down nine trees in my property in Florida. The chainsaw was perfect for the job. Never gave me any problem. Love it and truly recommend this chainsaw to others."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Scott L.
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 6/28/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Saw
I took a chance a moved from Stihl to Husqvarna! The saw is light, easy to start, and can cut through some pretty big stuff with relative ease. It appears easy to maintain and so-far reliable. The 24-inch bar is not for a novice though as the blade can easily get pinched when cutting felled wood.

The only concern is the chain loosens rapidly and needs constant tightening. The bar nuts need frequent adjustments as well. I lost one in the welcome week of use.

But I would definitely... more
Scott Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Samuel R.
Hamilton, TX
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 3/3/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
25
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
460 Dry Oak
Nothing but god to say. I am a Ranch owner in Hamilton Texas. I have many large dead Live Oaks. They have been dead for years and standing because they dull a blade before you get started. Late in the evening you can see sparks. The 460 Rancher was a different story. Two things going for it. First thing is the blade and Chain are big and wide enough to withstand the duty. Second thing is it has enough power to use low lugging RPM. This keeps the blade and chain cooler thus it stays sharp.... more
Was this review helpful?
330
Jason G.
South Lake Tahoe, CA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 7/16/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
06
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Always Wanted A Husqvarna
I first used a Husqvarna chainsaw in high school in my forestry class. I also used Stihl chain saws and hands down preferred the Husqvarna every time. I hope this saw lasts for a long time to come as I will be using it a lot. I did a lot of research between Stihl and Husqvarna, and there is honestly no concrete evidence one is better than the other, but I know that it comes down to personal preference, and if you are looking for a Husqvarna chain saw, I don't think you'll find a better deal... more
Pros: Price, Fast, I'd Buy It Again, Its Just What I Was Hoping For
Cons: I Live At 6200 Ft Elevation The Saw Is Tuned At Sea Level
Jason Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
250
Mel
Whitehall, MT
REVIEWED
FEB.
06
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Handfull Of Power - Be Ready To Work!
Bought one of the "460 Ranchers" with the 24" bar, 3/8" chain about 18 months ago. When you remember to pump the gas bulb, it starts first pull every time! Remember to use the compression release - it will save you time!..

Last Aug we had a forest fire burn us over - 20 acres of fir/spruce trees + house/shop/ham shack.
Had to replace the ham shack and move the rebuilt towers. Had to clear some "standing burned" in a hurry.

This saw earned it keep...handled... more
Was this review helpful?
234
Joerg E.
Auburn Hills, MI
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 1/8/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Need To Get Work Done? Get This!
After making first cuts you feel the difference to a consumer saw. I upgraded from a McCulluch to this saw. The Husky cuts like through butter, but you need to respect this saw.

Its not a dangerous saw, but a very much powerful one as the largest consumer saws.

I did purchase this version after comparing different versions from Husky and others. This saw offers best functions with a powerful engine for a reasonable price. A comparable pro saw is many bucks more.

- 24 inch bar
Long enough... more
Pros: Fast, Durable, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Joerg Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Joerg's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very quick order processing, fast delivery within a few days through Fedex."
 more
Was this review helpful?
100
Jeremy G.
Saugatuk, MI
REVIEWED
APR.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Beast!
We have a few acres of wooded land and heat our cabin primarily with the wood we fell on the property. I did tons of research and was teetering between the Husqvarna 460 and the Stihl Farm Boss.

This saw does everything I ever wanted, starts easy even in cold weather, and chews through wood like a beaver on crack. I am happy with my purchase and would recommend this saw to anyone in the market for a high quality prosumer saw.
Jeremy Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
80
Currie E.
Fayetteville, NC
REVIEWED
MAR.
19
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
24'' Rancher
The chainsaw was used once and worked very good. The second time it was used it worked for a few minutes and then the motor would not run at full speed and it would not cut. It was carried over to the authorized company to fix it but we may not get it back for a few weeks. It has already been a week. The authorized repair shop is Hope Mills Saw & Mower in Hope Mills, North Carolina. They take their time in fixing anything. I guess if you are a commercial customer you get first service... more
Was this review helpful?
2315
Gunny K.
Mariposa, CA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 7/21/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
W@rked Great And Then,
The chainsaw worked great for the first 2 uses and then it would not start. We took it to a dealer and they repaired it, the gas line was put in backwards.

The dealer took care of the problem and everything is great and the saw works like a charm, no cost to us., very happy, sometimes things get messed up in the process and it was taken care of and we are happy and using that saw like crazy.
Gunny Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
Gunny,
We're sorry to hear that you had this problem with your Husqvarna 460 Rancher. Had you called us, we would have been happy to help you.

Thank you for your review.
more
Was this review helpful?
71
Simon C.
Shingle Springs, CA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 3/5/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Satisfied.
I received this saw on time as advertised. Broke it in around my property just cutting rounds. Oak. Right there I was happy with its performance. Then I put the saw to work with some 100 feet pines dead shortly from the Beatle.

It was like cutting butter. So glad I purchased the 24" bar. Next project is to use it and alaskan saw mill to to them into lumber Which I'm sure will have no problem with the right chains. A lot of saw for the spondolics.
Simon Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Joerg E.
Delta, OH
REVIEWED
JAN.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Our Workhorse
It was time to consider a new chain saw for our summer house. Its surrounded by tress and we also have larger trees to take take care of. We also make fire wood.

We have a 38 cc McCulloch saw at home for the lighter cases, but need something for the heavy cases. So the budget is by $500. Next, since we use the saw in Sweden and need a brand giving us support there.

We also considered a Prio saw which is available for this money, but since we have a 16 inch saw, we need something bigger.... more
Pros: Fast, Durable, Features, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy
Joerg Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Joerg's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very quick shipment after order. Easy to track with FedEx. Will return."
 more
Was this review helpful?
40
Tom P.
Collierville, TN
REVIEWED
JUN.
05
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Chain Brake
The unit cuts well and runs well. The chain brake did not release so the chain would not turn. I disabled the brake to use the saw. It is OK but I do not have a chain brake.
Pros: Fast
Cons: Low Quality
Tom Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
95
Trisha M.
Buxton, ND
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 6/9/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw!
Runs great. Shipping was super fast. I would recommend this saw!
Trisha Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Trisha's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Website was easy to use. Fast and free shipping!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
Willard T.
Rockport, MA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 9/7/14
REVIEWED
FEB.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Nice Chainsaw
I like the chainsaw. Plenty of power, nice long bar.....but I never got my rebate : (
Pros: Price, High Quality
Cons: No Rebate
Willard Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
Willard,
Willard,

The rebate would have been for $15 on the saw you purchased. We are sorry you did not receive this. This rebate needed to be sent in by you. If you did this, we could look into this for you with Husqvarna. This has been over for a couple of months, but if you would like, we would be happy to look into this further for you. Please feel free to give us a call at 800-710-7499.
more
Willard's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Awesome saw, got the pro package with chaps, helmet, ear protection, etc. The thing I didn't get was the rebate."
 more
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
Willard,
This rebate is a manufacturer's rebate which may take 2 months or more to go out. As long as you submitted your rebate form to Husqvarna they should be able to confirm that your rebate will arrive. You may contact Husqvarna at 800-487-5951.
Was this review helpful?
30
Nick W.
Kendallville, IN
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 8/19/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw.
Starts in 3 pulls. Plenty of power.
Nick Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Dana Craig
La Pine, OR
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 10/21/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Love My New Chainsaw
I love my new chain saw. And the amount of time it took to place the order then receive it was amazing. Thank you
Dana Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
Dana,
You've very welcome. Thank you for the review!
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Gary R.
Ahwahnee, CA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 10/3/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
27
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Husky 460
plenty of power, will have to wait to determine reliabilty. my last husky saw last 13 years, parts are no longer made for it
Gary Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Gary's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"ordered the saw and had it with 10 days of order. very happy"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Susan K.
Newtown Square, PA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 9/17/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Favorite Toy
Starts right up and goes through 36' trees like butter. Nice being able to get a straight cut through bigger logs no bar bending. I had this saw running for hours in the woods without a problem it made my day.
Susan Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Tommy S.
Interlochen, MI
REVIEWED
AUG.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quite Brawny!!!
This saw is a brawny lad it is. I have 3 acres of Pines and hardwoods. I've been using an 18 inch Craftsman up until today. This Husky makes quick work of my to do list..... thanks Husqvarna!!!
Tommy Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Ronald P.
Elk Gove Village, IL
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 8/10/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Power When It's Needed
Felling 8 red pines up to 20" diameter, 1 oak at around 16 " diameter and 1 silver maple at around 16" diameter. this chain saw handled it all!

Nice smooth cutting and relatively easy starts. Exactly what I needed for the job at hand. With 20 more trees to go, I feel this machine will hold up to many years of service .
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, Price, Durable, Easy To Use
Ronald Recommends This Husqvarna Product
Ronald's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"fabulous service. i was pleasantly surprised of how quickly my saw arrived at my door . my opinion...service unsurpassed."
 more
Was this review helpful?
26
John R.
Lodi, CA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 9/21/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
13
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Saw Chain
The chain did not last long before I had to get it sharpened. This saw is not for large jobs. Even though it is called a rancher it should be used for smaller jobs.,
John Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
17
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Husqvarna 966 04 83-34 gas chain saw reviews.Compare our Husqvarna 966 04 83-34 ratings. Find the Husqvarna 966 04 83-34 gas chain saw that is right for you.