Search
< Back to Product

Remington RM1635W Electric Chain Saws Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$79.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$79.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$79.57
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Remington RM1635W Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.0 out of 54.0 out of 54.0 out of 54.0 out of 54.0 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (8)
Price (7)
I'd Buy It Again (4)
Light Weight (4)
Fast (3)
Cons
Heavy (1)
Automatic Oiler Oiled Th... (1)
The Automatic Oiler Oile... (1)
The Automatic Oiler Oils... (1)
94% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
28 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Chain Saw Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
28 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
1795 Helpful Votes
Chain Saws Direct Recommended

Electric saws are convenient- no gas and oil to mix, just plug them in and get busy.

This saw will do a fine job on an ornery shrub or small tree; but if you want to do some serious work on your wood pile you will want to consider our Better or Best ranked saw.

Dale Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
498
Glenn T.
Loveland, CO
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
SEP.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good
Moved from a 5-acre heavily wooded rural homestead to a city lot with just a few trees. Didn't need the Farm Boss for trimming branches. The RM1635W is a dandy replacement for the Stihl. Am concerned about all the problems people are having with the auto oiler but so far no problems. I will buy another electric when this gives up the ghost.
Glenn Recommends This Remington Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Peder B.
Duluth, MN
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
MAY.
20
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Automatic Oiler
All the chain oil drained out thru the oiler unto the floor. Very messy - needs to be drained after each use.
Was this review helpful?
10
Vanessa J.
Loxahatchee, FL
REVIEWED
NOV.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Can't Kill This Saw
I bought an acreage with infestation of Brazilian peppers ...have cut probably fifty of these down with this bad boy and still going strong...best purchase ever..
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Durable, Exceeded Expectations
Vanessa Recommends This Remington Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Nicholas J.
Gadsden, AL
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 5/6/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Usefull Tip When Using This Chain Saw.
I think these are great little chain saws. When using this electric chain saw, use as heavy a gauge extension cord as possible to maximize power at the chain saw, especially when doing jobs at a distance from your power source.
Nicholas Recommends This Remington Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Jean G.
Paradise, TX
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 6/6/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
21 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
31
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Gift For An 84 Year Old!
At 83 years old, my husband could no longer start our heavy, gas powered chain saw. We had several acres that needed to be cleared. So, for his 84th birthday, I bought him a Remington electric 16" chainsaw. He was skeptical that it could do the job, but he cut down about 20 small trees before I could get him to stop. Then as he moved these trees to the burn pile, I cut about 20 more. Some were as much as 6 inches in diameter, and it went through them quickly and easily......... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight, It Starts So Easily And Each Start Also Oils The Chain
Jean Recommends This Remington Product
Jean Would Recommend Chain Saws Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"It was easy to find what I was looking for at your site. I ordered immediately, and received the chain saw in about a week. We were very happy with the experience, and we will certainly shop at this site again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
165
Greg
Total Helpful Votes
28 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
06
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Ex Customer Of Remington
I bought this chainsaw to clear some small brush on my property . I put chain oil in it , checked the chain tension and guide bard nuts.Within the first thirty minutes of usage it threw the chain off twice . Each time I re-installed it and set the chain tension . The tensioning knob became hard to turn . I took the cover off and found the threaded portion of the screw was slightly bent.
Here is my complaint , the metal used in the tentioning assembly and adjustment block is too soft... more
Was this review helpful?
287
Don
Total Helpful Votes
25 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
11
2013
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Too Much For This Saw
Worked fine at first, then chain came off. I put it back on, it came off again but something in the motor locked up. I was able to free the stuck motor with pliers after disassembling it. I got it working again.... tried to cut, started smoking... running slow and eventually locked up again.

I'm not going to pay for another motor.....its going in the dump...lesson learned.

Biggest limb cut was 4-5 inches.

Not being a cutting pro, maybe I did something wrong...don't know...don't care!
Was this review helpful?
257
Kim
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 12/26/12
Total Helpful Votes
16 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
17
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Chainsaw For The Money!
I borrowed this exact model saw from a friend to remove a huge maple tree that fell across my front yard during Hurricane Sandy. As long as you use the correct grade motor oil in the chain lubricating reservoir the RM1635W cuts through a 10" limb like it was butter. Plus spare parts are easy to find and replacing the chain only takes about 10 minutes.

Because of my previous experience I bought this saw as I had to eventually return my friends. Chain Saws Direct had the best deal and... more
Was this review helpful?
163
Larry
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
08
2012
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Remington Electric Chain Saw Rm1635w
I have bought two of these saws over the last three years. Both times the automatic oiling system has failed. The first saw leaked oil like crazy. I used it only occasionally and for fairly light work. I drained the oil between uses and kept the oil chamber clean. During the second year the automatic oiling system stopped oiling the bar and chain and chain overheated. I flushed the system and eventually took the saw apart to try to find the cause of the problem. Eventually I decided to... more
Was this review helpful?
152
Ginny T.
Prescott, AZ
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
28
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Really Good Chainsaw.
I had previously owned this same chainsaw and really liked it. It worked great for an inexpensive electric one. So I went to the same store I went to before and a few others and couldn't find this one so I ended up buying a different brand. Big mistake! I worked for 2 hours and the chain came off 5 times. The auto oiler just gushed out the oil. The design was really bad. I took it back, came home, went online to look for my Remington that I loved! Went to our local hardware store, found it and... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Light Weight, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: The Automatic Oiler Oils The Chain Way Too Much Messy, The Automatic Oiler Oiled The Chain Way Too Much Messy, Automatic Oiler Oiled The Chain Too Much Messy
Ginny Recommends This Remington Product
Was this review helpful?
131
Chuck
Ft. Walton Beach, FL
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
29
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Hit On Wood Pile
I'm the type person that gets tree logs where ever I can find them. Recently, I have been very fortunate and located a substantial amount of Oak logs and decided I would get them. My assessment is that this is a very good little saw for a beginner and a seasoned user. I was a little surprised that the chain got loose and had to tighten it a couple of times. Other than that the saw handled 4" to 8-10" logs very handily. The other issue I had was saw dust accumulation on the... more
Was this review helpful?
101
Timothy C.
Summerville, SC
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 3/8/14
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw
Works great, no gas or oil mixture to mess with just plug it in. But always be careful when using any chainsaws.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Timothy Recommends This Remington Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Duudley F.
Ocala, FL
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 10/22/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Electric Chain Saw...
I had a Remington 6" chain saw and I put it through everything a chain saw is able to do with out any problems but I did over work it and burned the motor out (cut bigger trees then rated). So I bought a newer and more powerful one and so far it works as good if not better. I am very pleased ...and will by another if if this one burns up!
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Fast, High Quality
Cons: Heavy
Duudley Recommends This Remington Product
Duudley Would Recommend Chain Saws Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy to find what you want and the price is right."
 more
Was this review helpful?
72
Melissa F.
Bryan, TX
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 2/13/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
07
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Chain Saw Fear
I have always been afraid of chain saws (maybe it's because I am from Texas) but the Remington has changed all of that. I had a gas-powered chain saw (Poulan) and just reading the instructions and cautions increased my fear ten fold. I always let other people use it with the stipulation they would do some work for me. Despite the expertise of the users, the saw seemed to require a repair after every use! I read the instructions and cautions for the Remington, plugged it up, and started... more
Was this review helpful?
83
Paul L.
Florence, SC
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 4/2/15
REVIEWED
APR.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Electric Chain Saw
I had been under the opinion that electric chain saws were for small pruning jobs. I used a family member's saw and was shocked at the power and the light weight of the saw. I went home and ordered one for myself the next day.

I am still very impressed with this saw. Does the work of a gas saw without the weight. At my age, it saves the old back. Service was wonderful. Saw was on my doorstep two days after ordering.
Paul Recommends This Remington Product
Paul's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very good quality product for the price. Ordered one day and was there in two days. Super service. Will definitely return to this site for future orders. Thanks for your timely service."
 more
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
Paul,
You're very welcome. Thank you for the review, and best wishes for an incredible summer!
Was this review helpful?
30
Dianne Raif
Rosenberg, TX
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 8/18/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
08
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Finished
Waiting to finish cutting and finally through.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight, I'd Buy It Again
Dianne Recommends This Remington Product
Dianne's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Pull the trigger and go."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
James E.
Jamestown, NY
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 8/8/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
30
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
A Great Value
Works great for me and just what I need to cut up a small amount of firewood and trim trees and brush. And it starts everytime!
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Fast
James Recommends This Remington Product
Was this review helpful?
41
David P.
Diamond Bar, CA
REVIEWED
APR.
10
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Remington 16" Electric And Pole Saw
I have had a Remington 16" electric chain saw for a while and used it to trim branches. I have about 2 acres that have about 20 canyon oaks that require trimming. I also have a Remington pole saw. The pole saw works great and is still in use. The only problem is that the pole is a twist lock variety and is no longer supported for parts. I recently got some oak rounds from a neighbor for fire wood and creative art projects.

I got a new chain for the 16" saw and went to work on some... more
David Recommends This Remington Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Jeff C.
New Orleans, LA
REVIEWED
SEP.
21
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Cutting Hardwood For The Smoker
I've been using this saw for over a year to cut Pecan wood for the smoker. Not continual or heavy duty type application, but Shagbark Hickory is super hard and this saw will go right through a 10" branch. I use Olive or Peanut oil and make sure the blade is tensioned and lubricated. Quick and easy to trim a few pieces for a BBQ ... I'd be a hesitant to use any electric saw for anything more than occasional med-light duty cutting.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Fast, Reliable
Jeff Recommends This Remington Product
Was this review helpful?
31
Allen M.
Smyrna, SC
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 8/23/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
17
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fine Addition
I have not used it very much yet, I've only used to cut smaller limbs and cut down about a 8-inch tree. The saw wanted to smoke a little on the stump of the tree. I stopped and let the saw cool off; there were no problems after that.

The only other problem is my left hand needs a little more room on the hand guard. I also have a 10-inch Remington pole saw I use to cut smaller limbs.

On larger trees I cut down or cut up with a Stihl Farm Boss, so the Remington is a fine addition.
Was this review helpful?
31
Gary F.
Orlando, FL
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 5/4/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Electric Vs Gas
I have gone through 3 of these saws in the last 14 years and they always worked when I needed them. The fact that I have cut down 10'" trees or larger didn't seem to bother my saw. Just don't get the saw pinched in the tree.

I stopped buying gas equipment because they always were a lot more trouble than they are worth. It took me longer to get them to work than it did to do the job. So now I buy electric and use the Right Extension Cord which is very, very important.

I do recommend... more
Gary Recommends This Remington Product
Gary's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fair price, excellent customer service. You can trust these folks."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Gilberto
REVIEWED
DEC.
05
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Like Butter
The trees went down like butter, it is a really sharp saw.
Was this review helpful?
43
David N.
Oklahoma City, OK
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 10/18/11
REVIEWED
MAR.
02
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Not So Good First Time
Well I was not happy with the first time I used it. The chain was dull and it bounced on the log, a Green Elm. I did like
just pluging it in. I will have a sharp chain on it next time.
Was this review helpful?
87
Keith
Littleton, CO
REVIEWED
AUG.
05
2011
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
This Saw Stinks
I didn't even complete cutting down my first tree before the motor burned up. It's good for about 15 minutes before the wiring starts smoking. I was not working it that hard. A chainsaw has to be able to stand continuous use. Imagine if the electric motors on hybrid cars burned out going up the first hill...
Was this review helpful?
65
Ron C.
West Allis, WI
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 9/24/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fast
The chainsaw arrived the following day (about 100 miles). The shipper battered the container / box but the saw survived.
Ron Recommends This Remington Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Steve
REVIEWED
OCT.
12
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Gets The Job Done.
My first chain saw. I found it easy to use. So far I have cut about one cord of hardwood. I have made cuts up to about 10" with ease. The chain has remained sharp. Auto oilier works fine. Using multiple heavy extension cords out to 100' does not seem to slow down the saw.
Steve Recommends This Remington Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Peggy S.
Forest City, NC
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 6/18/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
01
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Love It
It is just the right weight for me to handle. The only drawback is it uses a lot of oil. The older models had the oil pump and it didn't use all that oil. It is just right for what i need it to do.
Peggy Recommends This Remington Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Remington RM1635W electric chain saw reviews.Compare our Remington RM1635W ratings. Find the Remington RM1635W electric chain saw that is right for you.