Free Shipping On Chain Saws (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
< Back to Product

Husqvarna 240E Gas Chain Saws Reviews & Ratings - Product Discontinued

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Exclusive to these retailers
 
$184.33
(as of 02:01 CST - Details)
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Husqvarna 240E Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.0 out of 54.0 out of 54.0 out of 54.0 out of 54.0 out of 5
Pros
Price (1)
Light Weight (1)
Cons
Low Quality (2)
Unreliable (2)
Bad Instructions (1)
Difficult To Use (1)
Durability (1)
0% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
20 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Rick
Annapolis, MD
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 11/1/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
13
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Husqvarna 240e Upholds Company's Reputation
This is my second "Husky". My previous one was more powerful with a longer bar and was fine. However, thought I didn't need it anymore and sold it (a big mistake).

I finally bought another (240E) and it actually works better! I cut up trees 8"and larger after Sandy and it was like a hot knife through warm butter. I was having so much fun that I was actually glad I knocked chain off bar (quick fix) and had to quit for the day. The next day knew I should have stopped... more
Was this review helpful?
40
David
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 9/1/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
22
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Really Like This Saw
I used to borrow my brother-in-law's Stihl whenever a tree fell down. He paid a lot for it but you could never use it for an extended period of time. Something always had to be adjusted or repaired (there's a Stihl repair center near us).

After the last storm we both had trees to cut down and I didn't want to have anyone make a long trip for a saw. So, I researched and ordered the 240E. It was our anniversary anyway! My wife loved the idea.

I found the Husqvarna cut a lot easier than... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Eric L.
Indiapolis, IN
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 11/11/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
02
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Do Not Buy
I have used chain saws for 45 years. This is the worst chain saw from a major brand name I have ever seen or used.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability, Chain Comes Off The Saw Even If Tensioned Properly
Eric Does Not Recommend This Product
Eric's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Once you have used the saw even if it is defective it cannot be returned."
 more
Was this review helpful?
32
Mike G.
Kula, HI
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Bummed!!!
On the first tank with the brand new saw, after making 6 or 8 cuts through 3" diameter branches the saw would rapidly lose power as soon as I would start a cut and die out. I'd start it back up and it would rev up pretty nicely then die out again in mid cut. Changed fuel, same problem.
Was this review helpful?
21
John S.
Roswell, GA
REVIEWED
MAR.
07
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Total Garbage !!!
After reading a number of reviews I decided to take a chance and buy the Husqvarna 240 instead of the Stihl MS170 chainsaw. Boy what a mistake. This saw is garbage. The first time I tried to use the saw it took 30+ pulls to get it started even though I followed the starting instructions to the letter. I even used the expensive Husqvarna premixed fuel that comes in quart cans for the my first use of the chainsaw. After allowing the saw to "warm up" for the recommended 30 seconds the... more
Pros: Price
Cons: Low Quality, Difficult To Use, Unreliable, Bad Instructions
John Does Not Recommend This Product
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
John,
I included a portion of Husqvarna's warranty below. I also included a link to Husqvarna's dealer locator to help you find another local dealer.



Husqvarna must warrant the emission control system on your small nonroad engine for the period of time listed below provided there has been no abuse, neglect or improper maintenance of your unit. Your emission control system includes parts such as the carburetor, the ignition system and the fuel tank (California only). Where a warrantable condition exists, Husqvarna will repair your small nonroad engine at no cost to you. Expenses covered under warranty include diagnosis, parts and labor.

MANUFACTURER′S WARRANTY COVERAGE
The 2007 and later small nonroad engines are warranted
for two years. If any emission related part on you engine
(as listed above) is defective, the part will be repaired or
replaced by Husqvarna.

HUSQVARNA DEALER LOCATOR
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jim C
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 12/2/12
REVIEWED
JAN.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Needed Chainsaw To Cut Trees For Fire Wood.
Twenty five years ago, while living in WA State, I was taught to use a chain saw with some private loggers.
They taught me how to cut trees and limbs, then to be taken to the mill.
Now that training has paid off. A wood stove is the big need here in TX.
So I turned to Husqvarna as the tool use.
In WA, Husqvarna was the only chainsaw used by these private loggers I was around.
Was this review helpful?
00
Dan
Burnsville, NC
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 10/20/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
23
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
19 Cords And Counting
We cook and heat with wood. Wood burning stoves use a lot of wood to keep an oven at 350 degrees for two hours and by that time, it's 100 degrees in the house. This saw has been able to keep up with our needs. The only problem I have, is the chain blade. No one around here stocks the 18" blade for this saw and I sure could use a new one for Christmas!!
Great saw, at a great price.
Thank you guys,

Dan Taylor, Burnsville, NC.
Was this review helpful?
00
Darren M.
Stamford, CT
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 11/10/12
REVIEWED
DEC.
02
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Doing Great
It was hard to start initially but it's been great ever since. I would buy another.
Was this review helpful?
00
Joseph Pace
Pound Ridge, NY
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 11/12/12
Total Reviews
4 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
DEC.
01
2012
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Good For Limbs
This 240e is best used for limb trim or pruning. It could be a good second saw if you have another to fell trees, as this one just won't cut it. It's under-powered even for 12" trees- live and learn.

I purchased a Rancher model today, I hope it's better. I had a lot of trees downed by Sandy; they remain downed and in my way until I find a saw with guts. The 240e is not it.
Was this review helpful?
11
Bohdan S.
Ewing, NJ
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 11/2/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
23
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Consumer Saw
Unfortunately, the tree was bigger than anticipated. The saw took a little longer due to its girth, but did the job.....
Was this review helpful?
00
Rich A.
Moncks Corner, SC
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 8/9/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
30
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cuts Through Trees Like Butter
I had trouble starting at first, then I reduced the choke and it fired right up.

The saw is awesome. I started cutting wood until I got tired. The saw never got tired and it cut through trees like butter.
Was this review helpful?
00
Ford
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 7/17/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
07
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Saw Wouldn't Start
Received the chain in three days, but it wouldn't start, so had to take it to a repair shop for warranty work. The shop has had it for a week, so still haven't got to see how it operates.

CSD RESPONDS: We're sorry you had trouble starting the saw. Something you might want to try is to "actively" engage the chain brake while starting the saw... on new saws it can be stiff, and won't let the unit start until you put some muscle on it.
Was this review helpful?
22
Jennifer
Bentley, MI
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 12/12/11
REVIEWED
JAN.
15
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Needs
I bought this saw for my husband for Christmas..and myself? He bought me a Poulan and it is only good for trimming, it bogs down and stalls all the time.

I used the Husk to cut a fairly large tree down, and it cut like a dream..SOOO much better than his old poulan and my little poulan. However now that we have been using it for sometime..it still screams thru smaller wood but struggles to get thru the big stuff.

We are cutting wood to burn for the winter. This is a need and we need a... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Tadeus
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 11/6/11
REVIEWED
JAN.
13
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Looks Good
Changed bar and chain, but haven't had the need to use the sharpener yet. All looks good.
Was this review helpful?
00
Edward J.
St. Paul,, MN
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 11/1/11
REVIEWED
DEC.
01
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
How To Work With A Chan Saw
Excellent instruction on the DO's & Don'ts of using a chin saw. I would recommend it to the novice or expert.

I found the Husqvarna Model 240E to start on the first pull and performance was excellent.

The Husqvarna Powerbox offers a way to store the chain saw safely and offers room for motor oil, chain oil and cutting chain sharping tools .ie, files and gauges etc.

Chain Saws Direct should consider carrying Husqvarna sharping tools for their saws if available.

CSD RESPONDS:... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Matt
Everglades, FL
REVIEWED
JUL.
21
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Many Wasted Years...
I always find a need for a chain saw... just thought a cheap one would do. Boy was I wrong! This is not much more in price than a "cheap" saw but is is SO much more than any "mid-grade" saw! Get it if you use one!!!
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert
Leamington, UT
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 3/8/10
REVIEWED
MAR.
29
2010
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not A Commercial Saw
I bought this saw thinking I was getting a good quality saw. I realized it was not a commercial saw, but I was disappointed when it arrived.

I would have sent it back but I needed a saw right then. Everything on the saw is plastic except the chain and bar; and I'm questioning even the piston.

I am surprised that Husqvarna would even put their name on it. I needed a saw a week later in a hurry, and purchased a Craftsman with bigger bar and motor for less money and a better warranty.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Chain Saws Direct
Bolingbrook, IL
REVIEWED
NOV.
19
2009
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Lot Of Bang For Your Buck
This is a lot of bang for your buck.

For 20 bucks more than its best selling cousin the 235E, you get more power.

What makes this also a savvy purchase is that the larger engine will let them get done cutting faster without adding a lot more weight.

The Smart Start feature makes the pull start up to 40% easier than other engines.

Not having to cuss and strain will make the $20 bucks well worthwhile.
Was this review helpful?
00
Keith
Fairmont, MN
REVIEWED
SEP.
14
2009
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Buy For The Money
This is an excellent buy for the money.

It took me 16 years to wear out a Husqvarna 36, and I expect the same out of this one.

I cut a couple of hundred trees per year between 6" and 30" thick. This saw is a little too small for the larger trees, but handles like a dream because of the light weight and good balance.
Was this review helpful?
00
Jack Sinclair
Alexandria, VA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 2/19/10
REVIEWED
MAR.
13
2010
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Owner's Manual On Both Websites
Well, the chain saw is fine. But it came without an owner's manual, so I called and a guy at your number who said he didn't have one.

I got a number off off the Husqvarna web site and got a guy who said he would mail me a manual. About a week later, I got what looked like a copied version which had no diagrams or pictures, as in "see diagram A."

Finally, I found a dealer about 30 miles from my house who was a very nice. He gave me a manual for free and a lecture on why I... more
Was this review helpful?
01
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Husqvarna 240E gas chain saw reviews.Compare our Husqvarna 240E ratings. Find the Husqvarna 240E gas chain saw that is right for you.