Free Shipping On Chain Saws (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
< Back to Product

Makita DCS6421RFG Gas Chain Saws Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$679.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$679.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$729.39
(as of 11:57 CST - Details)
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Makita DCS6421RFG Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
High Quality (11)
Price (8)
I'd Buy It Again (7)
Fast (6)
Durable (5)
Cons
Packaging (4)
Heavy (4)
Floods easily (1)
None (1)
none ! (1)
93% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
15 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Chain Saw Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
28 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
2093 Helpful Votes
Chain Saws Direct Recommended

If you are looking for a top of the line saw and not looking to break the bank, look no further than the Makita DCS642120RFG. This saw is about as professional as it gets when it comes to chainsaws. Many people are familiar with the brand Makita, but when they think Makita, they often think of power tools and not power equipment, well Makita has been offering power equipment for quite some time now. This saw is actually the twin brother of the Dolmar PS-6400-20. They are the exact same saw... more
Dale Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
5016
Jason R.
Geneva, FL
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Powerful, Don't Use The Choke - Will Flood - Chainsaw Direc
Packaging:
Was shipped from Chainsaw Direct via FedEx with no over box, so we it arrived the box was tore up and the bar was stuck out of the box....Chainsaw Direct, you need to overbox a saw this big! I inspected for damage, nothing bent or scratched, but for over $500 saw...put it in another box! Please! Plus if this is sitting on someone's porch, it says come steal me, I am a brand new professional saw!

This is a very powerful saw, I had rented a Dolmar 6400 last year to clean up a... more
Pros: Durable, Fast, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Packaging, Chainsaw Direct Packaging was poor, no over box, just the retail
Jason Recommends This Makita Product
Was this review helpful?
70
Robert C.
Gold Beach, OR
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 2/25/17
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
MAR.
03
2017
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Shipping Box Did Not Have One Piece Of Tape A Thin Single Walled
The packaging of the saw to ship it to me was shocking, not one piece of tape on a thin wall card board box.
Pros: Can't use it, damaged when I upon opening
Cons: Packaging
Was this review helpful?
21
Ron M.
Port Charlotte FL, FL
REVIEWED
OCT.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Saw Ever
Five years ownership, sold the farm and the saw, best ever hands down, and I have owned most brands. I loved this saw, It is the favorite saw in Germany, and a great price here, I believe I bought the saw from you about 8 years ago.
Ron Recommends This Makita Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Aaron O
Syracuse, NY
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 5/31/17
REVIEWED
JUN.
23
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best High End Performance Saw Without Busting The B
I own Stihls and Husqvarnas, and use saws weekly felling, limbing, bucking and ripping/milling.

Pros are that dolmar is/was german now makita owned, high end features high torque, more horse power for less money for the same stihl farm ranch or pro expect to pay around a 1000+. This saw with free shipping comes in under 700.

If you are an arborist or pro stick with pro saws.

Pros to this are price power and performance.

Cons not many local dealers for dolmar so know how to... more
Pros: High Quality, Price, I'd Buy It Again, Fast
Cons: Tool required to refuel and oil
Aaron Recommends This Makita Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Bryan W.
The Dalles, OR
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 3/5/17
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
APR.
17
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love This Saw
This saw is awesome. I bought it and it came with a 20 inch bar so I bought a 24 in bar with a Oregon full chisel skip tooth chain then bought the heavy duty air filter. For a 64cc saw this thing cuts! Put it to the test on a 26 inch Douglas fir log and it chewed through it. It's also very easy to start - I would buy another
Pros: High Quality, Durable, Fast, Reliable
Cons: Heavy, Packaging
Bryan Recommends This Makita Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Anton I.
Auberry, CA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 2/16/17
REVIEWED
APR.
03
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw, But Hard To Start
I bought this saw on recommendation from a friend. I was very excited when it showed up, went to start it and followed the instructions to a T. I was very disappointed and super worn out when I pulled the pull starter many times and it never started. So I went in the house and went to YouTube to find instructions on starting the saw. It stated to 'never use choke' unless the air temp is very cold, otherwise it will just flood the engine. So I let the saw sit for a few hours and then went to... more
Pros: High Quality, Price, Fast, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Heavy, Hard to start w/choke.
Anton Recommends This Makita Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Jeff M
Santa Maria, CA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 1/23/17
REVIEWED
MAR.
28
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Bang For Your Buck
This is a great saw for the money. It has way more power than my Husqvarna 460 Rancher. I put a 24" bar and it is an absolute beast!
Pros: High Quality, Price, Reliable, Fast
Jeff Recommends This Makita Product
Jeff's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I had a great experience from chainsaws direct. Fast shipping to California."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Curt B.
Newton, NJ
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 1/23/17
Total Reviews
4 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAR.
08
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fine Saw !
This saw is by far the best you can buy.
Pros: High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Price, Features
Cons: none !
Curt Recommends This Makita Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Tom J.
Plano, TX
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 2/12/17
REVIEWED
MAR.
06
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Would Recommend It.
1: The first time I tried to start it, no go, never even fired. The box it came in was all taped up like it had been opened previously.

2: Took it down to the local Makita factory store and they replaced the cylinder head, piston, and rings. Said they were scorched like no oil. They asked me where I got it. They were very helpful and covered the repair at no charge and in one day.

3: Used it this weekend. It's a beast. Little heavy but it went through 20" trees like butter. It is a... more
Pros: High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Powerful
Cons: Packaging, Heavy, Floods easily
Tom Recommends This Makita Product
Was this review helpful?
11
James M.
Linden, TX
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 1/9/17
REVIEWED
FEB.
20
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw
Great saw. Get a professional type saw for a good price. It has plenty of power. I'm very happy with my purchase.
Pros: High Quality, Price, Durable, Reliable
Cons: Heavy
James Recommends This Makita Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Bryan S.
Cooperstown, NY
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 1/31/17
REVIEWED
FEB.
08
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Stop Comparing, Hands Down Worth It
I spent several hours for weeks trying to decide which saw to buy, everything just made sense about this Makita 6421. I own three saws, Husky 257, Dolmar 5100, and now Makita (Dolmar) and I'm so glad I made this purchase. Three things that make this a great buy is price, power, and undoubtedly performance. Three tanks of gas first day in my hands later, very very impressed. Smooth, powerful, weight seemed perfect, no problems at all worth every penny.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: None
Bryan Recommends This Makita Product
Bryan's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very happy with your recommendations, and price was very good. Thanks."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Dan E.
Woodbridge, VA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 1/13/17
REVIEWED
FEB.
06
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw
I'm using this saw to slab up some very hard white oak using an Alaskan mill. It handles this tough job well.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Durable, powerful
Dan Recommends This Makita Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Glenn L.
Warren Center, PA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 12/27/16
REVIEWED
JAN.
18
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw
So far this saw has been great. Solidly built. I had a Husky 55 and the increased RPM makes a big difference. The decompression option is great. Had trouble starting it the first time, but since then no problem. Follow the starting instructions for use of the choke, or it will flood!!!
Pros: High Quality, Price, Fast, Reliable
Glenn Recommends This Makita Product
Glenn's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Website is terrific, shipping was quick. I talked to someone on the phone and they really didn't have anymore information on the saws I was interested in than what was shown on the web site."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Delmer A.
Hot Springs, AR
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 1/9/17
REVIEWED
JAN.
15
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Beast!
Ran Stihl and Husky my whole life and was hesitant to try anything different. I would compare this saw to the 362 Stihl for over 300 dollars less and no m tronic crap.
Pros: Price, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Delmer Recommends This Makita Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Makita DCS6421RFG gas chain saw reviews.Compare our Makita DCS6421RFG ratings. Find the Makita DCS6421RFG gas chain saw that is right for you.