Free Shipping On Chain Saws (Lower 48) Tax-Free Except Illinois Orders
< Back to Product

Redback 106493 Cordless Chain Saws Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
Redback 106493 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
5/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
Quiet (18)
Easy To Use (17)
I'd Buy It Again (15)
Exceeded Expectations (14)
Fast (6)
Cons
Expensive (7)
Heavy (4)
Low Quality (2)
Bad Instructions (2)
None (1)
89% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
28 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Chain Saw Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
28 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
2348 Helpful Votes
Chain Saws Direct Recommended

Here is what all you cordless tool users have been waiting for!! The new Redback 120-volt Lithium-Ion cordless chainsaw is here. It offers up to 55 minutes of run time on a single charge.

The Redback 106493 uses a brushless motor which can sense sawing speed and allows for no bogging down when you are in the middle of a cut. It helps maximize run time and gives you the power you need, when you need it.

With a full 18” bar and standard size chain, you can not only limb but fell trees as... more
Dale Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
19435
Brian S
Chapel Hill, NC
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 5/25/17
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
32 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Leap Forward In Chainsaws
The feel and balance is right on. The amount of torque from the 120V Lithium and the brushless motor will pull you up the side of a building and it has the smarts to only use as much power as you need for that cut

Slide the battery in and go! There's none of that I don't wanna fire up the chainsaw stuff anymore

Half the noise and all of the clean air whew! I can actually be calm and cut!

And these folks will take care of you, I've learned
Pros: Durable, Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality
Brian Recommends This Redback Product
Brian's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"If something's not right they fix it"
 more
Was this review helpful?
311
Mara B.
North Augusta, SC
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 8/19/17
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
03
2017
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Battery Doesn't Hold Up
Purchased last month, and after trying to recharge battery, will not hold a charge or charge above 1 bar. Tried to contact Redback and never get a response back!!! Loved the chainsaw, but not if it is a one use and done saw!
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
Mara,
We are sorry to hear there was an issue with your battery. We have reached out to Redback to contact you and they informed us they did speak with you and a new battery was sent out through the warranty process, but please accept our apologies for your disappointment and inconvenience!
more
Was this review helpful?
60
Rodney R.
Cataula, GA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 1/10/18
REVIEWED
JAN.
31
2018
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw
I was not sure about buying a battery chain saw, but after it arrived and put it together I was impressed. It is better than the gas operated one I have, starts right up, and performs great. Also, the weight is comparable to a gas saw. I used it for about thirty minutes and I had no issues. A great buy.
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
Rodney Recommends This Redback Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Daniel Joyner
Byron, GA
REVIEWED
JAN.
30
2018
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Unbelieveable Power
I wore out before the battery.
Pros: Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Daniel Recommends This Redback Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Kenneth T.
Johns Island, SC
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 6/16/17
Total Helpful Votes
23 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
07
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Chainsaw, Not Just By Electric Standards
I've been using it around my property a lot since I got it, and it truly is an EXCELLENT chainsaw easily on par with if not considerably more powerful than my gas chainsaw (50cc) without any of the hassles that come along with it.

It's so quiet I don't even bother with hearing protection, I can easily hear everything going on around me including the slight groans coming from a tree being cut as it's starting to give.

If I had one gripe, and it's a very modest one, is that while the... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Fast, Powerful
Cons: I just wish there were cheap and common batteries
Kenneth Recommends This Redback Product
Kenneth's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I've had an exceptionally good experience all around with Chainsaws Direct, from the time I ordered it to it being on my doorstep I think was just two business days."
 more
Was this review helpful?
230
Thomas O
Hookstown, PA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 7/20/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
21
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Love This Saw!
Out of the box the leds on the battery indicated 3/4 charge. I assembled in less than an hour and went to work on a 80 foot pine that had recently fell over in my yard. I cut all of the branches and trunk into 20 inch sections on that 3/4 charge. On the last two cuts on the trunk the battery started to complain by beeping and flashing a red led on the battery pack indicating low battery. The saw never bogged even on the last two cuts. I just sold my homelite 360 professional, it was a... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Durable, High Quality
Thomas Recommends This Redback Product
Was this review helpful?
90
Gary T.
Biloxi, MS
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 8/30/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
20
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Electric Chainsaw What A Great Experience
Very familiar with gas chain saws but been using a old corded electric unit for trimming around the yard for years now it was time to replace the old cords so figured it was time to look at a battery unit instead .

Checking around the hardware stores and pawn shops was not very helpful so ran across chainsaw direct had the best selections and reviews and product descriptions are very helpful . Since I've got 2 plus acres of land with trees looked big and this fit the bill.

Ordered and... more
Pros: Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again, Features
Cons: Expensive
Gary Recommends This Redback Product
Gary's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great company thanks."
 more
Was this review helpful?
80
Eddy J.
Upstate, MI
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Battery Power Will Take Over!!
I have no idea why anyone would mess with gas and mixing oil after using this. The only messy part of this is having to still put in bar and chain oil!

Great product, I look forward to seeing this brand more places and trying out their other products. Fantastic.
Pros: Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, Fast, High Quality
Eddy Recommends This Redback Product
Was this review helpful?
80
Keith K.
Somers, NY
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 6/25/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
08
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It. No Drawbacks, But Areas To Improve
Heavily forested 2 acre homeowner with many trees bigger than a bear hug. I bought this specifically because I am a night and weekend warrior usually. The times the neighbors (and i) don't like hearing chainsaws. Owned for about a month. I've used on a 20" tree down to thick forsythia. Trees, saplings are all quick work. And the runtime is fine. I get over an hour as I fell, cut off branches and make 18" logs. It cuts as good as a gas saw. The brand new chain helps. Never got... more
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
Keith Recommends This Redback Product
Was this review helpful?
81
Keith R.
East Granby, CT
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 5/16/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Value
I have used many chainsaws, but never a battery powered one. I was quite impressed with the power of this chainsaw and the battery life. I was able to cut down two 25 foot hemlock trees and into pieces without a recharge.

The blade seems to get loose rather easy, but I was afraid to make it too tight as the pieces that lock the blade in place are plastic.

Overall I was very impressed and I see no need to go back to a gas powered one for around the yard use. Certainly, it saves time... more
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, Quiet, Easy To Use, Fast
Keith Recommends This Redback Product
Keith's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Always a pleasure dealing with Chain Saws Direct and related companies."
 more
Was this review helpful?
70
Leslie D.
South Dartmouth, MA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 5/10/17
REVIEWED
JUL.
13
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Bought For Mother's Day
Surprised with performance & ease of use.
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy
Leslie Recommends This Redback Product
Was this review helpful?
92
John H.
Mc Farland, WI
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 10/21/17
REVIEWED
NOV.
02
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Redback 120 Volt Chainsaw (checking With Dale)
Because of hearing loss I recently bought two battery chainsaws: the Stihl C-BQ, (36 volt) and the Redback 120 volt from Chainsaws Direct. The Stihl has exquisite design, superlative touch and control, and a high price point $590 with the 14 inch bar. It will cut 120 2-4 inch oak limbs, and still show 20 30 % reserve. But the ¼ inch kerf means pinching and binding.

The Redback 120 volt is a horse of a different color. It is heavy, but well balanced. It is powerful, ripping a 14 inch... more
Pros: Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, Fast, Price
Cons: Bad Instructions
John Recommends This Redback Product
John's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Rapid delivery, great product, start shocking chains and bars. Wonder if a 16 inch bar and a 5/16 inch chain would be a good option. Dale, you must provide warning stickers, as a minimum!!! I spent 22 years in court as a plaintiff attorney."
 more
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
John,
We are very happy to hear you like the Redback chainsaw. We will pass the information to Redback about the warning stickers since we do not manufacturer these items. We do not open or tamper with the factory sealed package. There would be no issue using a 16" bar. However, the pitch for this model is 3/8" and the gauge is .050". We appreciate your business, and apologize for the inconvenience.
Was this review helpful?
60
Nigel H.
Mattapoisett, MA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 9/29/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
22
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Highly Impressive
To be honest, I knew nothing about chainsaws when researching the purchase of mine. I leaned towards battery, because I've had some good experiences with other battery operated garden/yard tools. Given what I had to cut up, given storm debris and left overs from a professional tree felling, I knew I had to get a fairly substantial one. I'm so happy I chose the Redback. It's been excellent. I was skeptical of battery life, but that's really impressed me. I thought it might be too heavy once the... more
Pros: Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: oil reservoir not easy to see liquid level!
Nigel Recommends This Redback Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Jorge M.
Miami, FL
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 9/23/17
REVIEWED
OCT.
16
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Well Made Powerful Saw!!!
Well made & powerful 120V chainsaw. I have cut trees down from 6 to 18-inches in diameter with no problem and with no drop in power. The chain saw is easy to dismantle and maintenance is easy, with the turn of two plastic knobs. I bought and extra battery since each one last around 50 minutes of charge.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable
Cons: Heavy, Expensive, Each 120 Volts lithium battery cost $140. Chain saw around $329.
Jorge Recommends This Redback Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Michael D.
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 8/30/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
21
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love This Saw!
Works great, gets the job done fast, and there's no mixing of fuel just push the button and you're working.
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Durable, Features
Cons: None
Michael Recommends This Redback Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Rebecca S.
Midway, TN
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 7/9/17
REVIEWED
AUG.
23
2017
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Awesome Saw
I really like this chainsaw. It is a little bigger than I expected, but it is still manageable. It has a great run time and it cuts through thick logs quite well.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable
Cons: Heavy
Rebecca Recommends This Redback Product
Rebecca's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"I had an pleasant buying experience and would buy from them again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
Wanda W.
Caldwell, KS
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 8/31/17
REVIEWED
SEP.
25
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Love It. Easy For Me To Handle. Glad I've Got It
Great product.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Wanda Recommends This Redback Product
Was this review helpful?
41
Billy C.
Scottsboro, AL
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 11/12/17
REVIEWED
DEC.
04
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product!
Easy to assemble, easy to use, battery charge lasted much longer than expected.
Love not having to crank or having to use gasoline.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again
Billy Recommends This Redback Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Karen D.
Higganum, CT
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 10/25/17
REVIEWED
NOV.
15
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Stellar Product!!
This is a must have for a home owner. I used it for an hour straight and then I put it on the charger (it was not too hot to go right on the charger). I stacked the wood I cut and within half an hour the saw was ready fully charged and ready to go! Great buy! I would recommend it without a second thought
Pros: Quiet, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again, Fast
Cons: Expensive
Karen Recommends This Redback Product
Karen's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Leon P.
Paragould, AR
REVIEWED
NOV.
12
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Like Everything, I'm A Little Concerned It Doesnt Put Out
I love it, qualtiy seems to be well built, it holds its power until warning light comes on that battery is drained - love these features. Everybody says battery is expensive , I disagree because of it being 120V.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Durable
Leon Recommends This Redback Product
Leon's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Was easy to use site and came quickly, would use them again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Leonid L.
Weston, MA
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 11/24/17
REVIEWED
JAN.
16
2018
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
It's Possible I Got A Lemon But...
Given an overwhelming praise for the product, I'd like to be conservative in my rating. Another reason for that is that the chain that comes with the saw was very dull and didn't cut straight, which is very unusual for a new product. So it's possible that some mistake happened. I must say the chain was so bad that I, as another reviewer, got worried that I put the chain on the wrong direction (I didn't). In other words, I'm not sure how this chainsaw would work with a good chain, but as is cut... more
Leonid's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"Service was a bit slow."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Eric J.
Loudon, NH
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 12/6/17
REVIEWED
DEC.
28
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Powerful- Used It For 4 Hours & Still Had Half A Battery
I was so tired of gas saws constantly failing. I use my saws a few times a year, after storms or beaver clean up. Starting them after 8 months of sitting was always a chore. No worries now as this saw is just as powerful as my small gas saw, but I just plug in the battery and pull the trigger. I thought I broke it but the brake was on. It doesn’t make any noise or indicate anything is wrong when the brake is on, just does nothing.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Reliable
Cons: Expensive, Heavy
Eric Recommends This Redback Product
Was this review helpful?
10
David C.
Lincoln, NE
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 10/17/17
REVIEWED
DEC.
22
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Finally A Chainsaw That Starts After Sitting For 3 Months
The chain and bar are same as my Echo, high quality all Oregon . The standard battery last so long that I did not need to buy the premium extra battery.
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, Durable, Features
David Recommends This Redback Product
Was this review helpful?
10
James B.
Mount Pleasant, UT
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 10/25/17
REVIEWED
NOV.
20
2017
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Saw!
Great saw for use around the farm and one can hear what is going on around while using this saw. Now more ringing ears when done with the work. No gas and oil fumes to breath either.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Fast
James Recommends This Redback Product
James's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Everyone I encountered went the extra mile to make sure that my order was right and that I had the information to contact another company to get a spare battery."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
John R.
Lott, TX
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 12/26/17
REVIEWED
JAN.
27
2018
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Battery Saw I Have Owned
I cut mostly mesquite (very hard). I would put this saw up against any saw it's size.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
John Recommends This Redback Product
John's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Already have recommended to several people."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Vince G.
Maryland Heights, MO
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 1/2/18
REVIEWED
JAN.
25
2018
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Redback (18") 120-volt Lithium-ion Cordless Chainsaw
This chainsaw is perfect for home use. Easy to start, plenty of power, and doesn't disturb the neighborhood. The battery takes about two hours to charge and it last for about two hours. I would buy it again.
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Reliable
Vince Recommends This Redback Product
Vince's Experience With Chain Saws Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The Redback chainsaw was delivered in a few days. I am happy. Thanks for the great service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Rich G.
Chesterfield, VT
Purchased from Chain Saws Direct
Purchased 11/17/17
REVIEWED
DEC.
13
2017
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
If It's Too Good To Be True...well You Know The Rest
Bought this saw since I like battery operated tools for their ease of use. This Redback 18"saw has all sorts of red flags waving in my face. First off their website is not there, try getting support or warranty work done. Second, it seems to have plastic parts where you know on the future, there will be trouble, like the plastic tab that holds the bar in place so you can tighten it back, I see that piece breaking in the future. Now I started using it, only to find that it can't even... more
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Expensive, Low Quality, Bad Instructions
Dale, the Chain Saw Expert
Product Expert
Rich,
We are very sorry to your hear you are disappointed with your Redback Chainsaw. We have not heard of any problems with this chainsaw and have received excellent reviews from customers. Redback does give a generous 5 year warranty on the chainsaw and we highly recommend you contact them to inform them of these problems at 877-487-8275. I have also included a link to the Redback website if you would like to email them directly Redback Power.
Please accept our apologies for your disappointment and inconvenience!
more
Was this review helpful?
11
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials

Check out the latest Redback 106493 cordless chain saw reviews.Compare our Redback 106493 ratings. Find the Redback 106493 cordless chain saw that is right for you.